BlockBefore
Photograph of Mo-Ark Baptist Academy
Photograph by Valis55, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Mo-Ark Baptist Academy

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1996.

From the record

“The Mo-Ark Baptist Academy was a Baptist Christian school in Blue Eye, Arkansas. It is located just south of the western end of Park Street, not far from the state line with Blue Eye, Missouri.”

Wikipedia article Mo-Ark Baptist Academy, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 34 National Register listings published here for Carroll County · listed in 1996 · category: Building.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Listed as. Mo--Ark Baptist Academy - the National Register files a house under its owner's surname.
  • Address. S of western terminus of Park St., Blue Eye, 72660
  • When was it listed? September 1996
  • Category. building
  • Township. Northeast township
  • National Register reference number. 96001030 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Fires near this property

23 since 1992

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 23 fires within 5 miles of Mo-Ark Baptist Academy between 1992 and 2020, burning about 798 acres in total. None started naturally. 2 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined12
Debris and open burning3
Equipment and vehicle use3
Arson/incendiarism2
Misuse of fire by a minor2
Smoking1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
6 September 2011Missing data/not specified/undetermined10 acresMissouri Department of Conservationnot named
8 August 1997Equipment and vehicle use1.0 acresMissouri Department of Conservationnot named
14 August 2015Debris and open burning2.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
1 August 1997Misuse of fire by a minor1.0 acresMissouri Department of Conservationnot named
27 July 1997Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresMissouri Department of Conservationnot named
23 July 2018Equipment and vehicle use5.2 acresMissouri Department of Conservation177449-10404-07232018-1717
12 May 2018Missing data/not specified/undetermined145 acresMissouri Department of Conservation176963-10404-05122018-1805
2 April 2019Missing data/not specified/undetermined47 acresMissouri Department of Conservation178821-10404-04022019-2300

Every fire recorded in Carroll County

Storms near this property

5 since 2001

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Blue Eye, the town this property stands in, in 5 storm reports between 2001 and 2023: 3 hail, 2 thunderstorm wind. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
May 2017HailBlue Eye$10,000no account filed
July 2012Thunderstorm WindBlue Eye-Strong thunderstorm wind blew down large tree limbs.
August 2001Thunderstorm WindBlue Eye-Thunderstorm winds estimated at 70 miles an hour blew a tree down onto Highway 21 between Blue Eye and Oak Grove.
April 2023HailBlue Eye-no account filed
August 2001HailBlue Eye-no account filed

Every storm recorded in Carroll County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 96001030 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Carroll CountyAll 34 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.