BlockBefore
Photograph of Capt. John T. Burkett House
Photograph by Valis55, CC BY-SA 4.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Capt. John T. Burkett House

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1998.

From the record

“Burkett House is a historic house in rural Ouachita County, Arkansas. It is located at 607 Ouachita County Road 65, near the community of Frenchport.”

Wikipedia article Capt. John T. Burkett House, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 42 National Register listings published here for Ouachita County · listed in 1998 · category: Building.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 4 buildingss, 3 structuress as contributing to the listing.
  • Listed as. Burkett, Capt. John T., House - the National Register files a house under its owner's surname.
  • Address. 607 Ouachita County Rd. 65, Frenchport, 71701
  • When was it listed? June 1998
  • Category. building
  • Township. Washington township
  • National Register reference number. 98000620 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Fires near this property

187 since 1997

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 187 fires within 5 miles of Capt. John T. Burkett House between 1997 and 2020, burning about 659 acres in total. 2 started naturally. 48 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined73
Arson/incendiarism48
Debris and open burning39
Equipment and vehicle use13
Smoking5
Misuse of fire by a minor3
Railroad operations and maintenance2
Recreation and ceremony2
Natural2

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
9 September 1998Arson/incendiarism8.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
8 September 2003Equipment and vehicle use1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
7 September 2019Missing data/not specified/undetermined2.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
7 September 2000Smoking4.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
6 September 2010Debris and open burning3.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
30 September 1998Missing data/not specified/undetermined3.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
28 September 2001Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
26 September 2011Arson/incendiarism1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named

Every fire recorded in Ouachita County

Storms near this property

6 since 1999

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Frenchport, the town this property stands in, in 6 storm reports between 1999 and 2020: 3 thunderstorm wind, 3 hail. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
March 2010Thunderstorm WindFrenchport$10,000Some trees were blown down in the Frenchport area.
April 2020HailFrenchport-The public reported nickel size hail.
May 2007Thunderstorm WindFrenchport-Trees were reported down on Ouachita County Road 67 southeast of Camden near Frenchport.
April 2003HailFrenchport-no account filed
December 2002HailFrenchport-no account filed
May 1999Thunderstorm WindFrenchport-no account filed

Every storm recorded in Ouachita County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

3 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Hickman House5.8 miles2006
Tate's Barn7.6 miles1972
Oakland Farm7.6 miles1978

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 98000620 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Ouachita CountyAll 42 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.