BlockBefore
Photograph of Wyatt House
Photograph by Kennethrorie, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Wyatt House

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1999.

From the record

“The Wyatt House is a historic house at Gainer Ferry Road and Arkansas Highway 25 in Desha, Arkansas. It is a two-story I-house, three bays wide, with a side gable roof, end chimneys, and a single-story ell extending to the rear.”

Wikipedia article Wyatt House (Desha, Arkansas), CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 43 National Register listings published here for Independence County · listed in 1999 · category: Building.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the National Register database, National Park Service · the Wikipedia article

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 2 buildingss as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. Jct. AR 25 and Gainer Ferry Rd., Desha, 72501
  • When was it listed? March 1999
  • Category. building
  • Township. Greenbrier township
  • National Register reference number. 99000263 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Fires near this property

52 since 1997

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 52 fires within 5 miles of Wyatt House between 1997 and 2018, burning about 388 acres in total. 3 started naturally. 12 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Debris and open burning22
Arson/incendiarism12
Missing data/not specified/undetermined10
Natural3
Equipment and vehicle use2
Misuse of fire by a minor1
Railroad operations and maintenance1
Smoking1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
9 September 2002Arson/incendiarism2.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
23 August 2012Missing data/not specified/undetermined2.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
21 August 2000Natural18 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
11 August 2012Natural9.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
3 July 2011Debris and open burning1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
25 July 2018Missing data/not specified/undetermined2.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
20 July 2011Debris and open burning2.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
19 July 2006Missing data/not specified/undetermined5.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named

Every fire recorded in Independence County

Mines and quarries near this property

10 of 25 shown

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 25 workings within 5 miles of Wyatt House: 12 unknowns, 11 producers, 1 past producer, 1 prospect. 11 still produce. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Manganese, Limestone, General, Stone, Crushed/Broken. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Texas Lime Co PlantLimestone, DimensionProducer
Texas Line Co PitLimestone, DimensionProducer
UnkStoneUnknown
UnkStoneUnknown
Arkansas Lime CoStone, Crushed/BrokenProducer
Crusher #2Stone, Crushed/BrokenProducer
Sheid QuarryStone, Crushed/BrokenUnknownLimestone
Limedale Lime PlantLimestone, GeneralProducer
Midwest Lime CoLimestone, GeneralProducer
Stoney Point PitLimestone, GeneralProducer

Every working recorded in Independence County

Storms near this property

12 since 1999

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Desha, the town this property stands in, in 12 storm reports between 1999 and 2025: 7 hail, 5 thunderstorm wind. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
September 2012Thunderstorm WindDesha$250,000Numerous large trees were blown down. Two trees fell into houses and three fell on vehicles. A shop building was destroyed, with flying debris from the shop ending up against the house next door. Power lines, and cable and telephone lines were blown down. Two firefighters were injured during the clean-up process; these are counted as indirect injuries.
September 2025Thunderstorm WindDesha-A tree was blown down onto Arkansas Highway 14/Heber springs Road near the town of Desha.
July 2006Thunderstorm WindDesha-Thunderstorm winds blew down some large tree limbs and overturned a carport. An outdoor wooden stage was destroyed as well.
May 2001Thunderstorm WindDesha-Thunderstorm winds knocked down trees, power lines and caused roof damage to several buildings.
June 2014HailDesha-no account filed
May 2014HailDesha-no account filed
April 2010HailDesha-no account filed
August 2006Thunderstorm WindDesha-no account filed
June 2004HailDesha-no account filed
July 2004HailDesha-no account filed
October 2004HailDesha-no account filed
May 1999HailDesha-no account filed

Every storm recorded in Independence County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Wheel Store, The2.5 miles1988
Adler House2.6 miles1982
Batesville Confederate Monument2.6 miles1996
Luster Urban Farmstead2.7 miles1983
Dondy Building2.7 miles1982
Batesville Commercial Historic District (Boundary Increase)2.7 miles1990

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 99000263 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Independence CountyAll 43 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.