Ganado, Arizona
16 topographic sheets cover this place, the earliest surveyed in 1886 and the latest in 1984. It stands in the Fort Defiance census division. It lies in ZIP code area 86505. It sits by Red Point. The Survey maps it on the Ganado quadrangle. 883 people lived here at the 2020 count. It stands 6,384 feet above sea level.
On record in Ganado
Buildings and businesses the archive holds for this place. Each opens its own page, with the source record it came from.
On the National Register 2 records
Hubbell Trading Post National Historic SiteNational Historic Landmark · listed 1966- Sage Memorial Hospital School of Nursing, Ganado MissionNational Historic Landmark · listed 2009
Surveyed buildings and structures 12 records
- Hubbell Trading Post, Bread Oven, Ganadofederal building survey, 3 photographs
- Hubbell Trading Post, Bunkhouse, Ganadofederal building survey, 4 photographs
- Hubbell Trading Post, Ganadofederal building survey, 8 photographs
- Hubbell Trading Post, Gazebo, Ganadofederal building survey, 1 photograph
- Hubbell Trading Post, Guest Hogan, Ganadofederal building survey, 3 photographs
- Hubbell Trading Post, Navajo Day School, Ganadofederal building survey, 6 photographs
- Hubbell Trading Post, Root Cellar, Ganadofederal building survey, 1 photograph
- Hubbell Trading Post, Storage Building, Ganadofederal building survey, 2 photographs
- J. L. Hubbell Trading Post, HB-1, State Route 3 (Navajo Indian Reservation), Ganadofederal building survey, 7 photographs
- J. L. Hubbell Trading Post, House, State Route 3 (Navajo Indian Reservation), Ganadofederal building survey, 8 photographs
- J. L. Hubbell Trading Post, Two-Story Barn, Navajo Indian Reservation, near State Route 3, Ganadofederal building survey, 7 photographs
- J. L. Hubbell Trading Post, Unfinished Shed, State Route 3 (Navajo Indian Reservation), Ganadofederal building survey, 4 photographs
Population over time
2 figuresGanado fell from 1,210 to 883 between 2010 and 2020. These are the recorded population figures Wikidata holds for this place, reached through the Geographic Names Information System number this page is keyed on rather than by name, so they belong to this place and not to another of the same name. Most are census counts, but not all are: an early figure may be a founding or settlement estimate, and an estimate published within five years of a census is left out. The change column is computed, and is left blank where more than 20 years separate a figure from the one before it, because a gap that long is not a change between two counts.
| Year | People | Change |
|---|---|---|
| 2010 | 1,210 | |
| 2020 | 883 | -327 (-27%) |
Topographic sheets covering this place
9 surveys from 16 printed sheetsMatched by testing this settlement's coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet in the United States Geological Survey's historical collection. Each opens the scanned sheet at the Survey.
- 1886 USGS Fort Defiance quadrangle1:250000
- 1892 USGS Fort Defiance quadrangle1:250000, 6 printings
- 1954 USGS Gallup quadrangle1:250000, 2 printings
- 1958 USGS Gallup quadrangle1:250000
- 1959 USGS Gallup quadrangle1:250000
- 1962 USGS Gallup quadrangle1:250000
- 1967 USGS Gallup quadrangle1:250000
- 1973 USGS Ganado quadrangle1:24000
- 1984 USGS Ganado quadrangle1:100000, 2 printings
Photographs
3 photographs,Taken for the Office of War Information and the Farm Security Administration, who photographed the country between 1935 and 1944. Works of United States government photographers, with no known restriction on use. Each opens its catalogue record.
Photographer not recorded. Library of Congress
Photographer not recorded. Library of Congress
Photographer not recorded. Library of Congress
Fires near this place
40 since 1997Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 40 fires within 5 miles of Ganado between 1997 and 2020, burning about 16 acres in total. 7 started naturally. 3 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Debris and open burning | 18 |
| Natural | 7 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 4 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 3 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 3 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2 |
| Misuse of fire by a minor | 1 |
| Fireworks | 1 |
| Other causes | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 8 September 2019 | Natural | under an acre | Navajo Region Fire and Aviation Management | GANADO MESA |
| 26 September 2005 | Debris and open burning | under an acre | Navajo Region Fire and Aviation Management | CO. RD 426 |
| 4 July 2006 | Fireworks | under an acre | Navajo Region Fire and Aviation Management | W.HUBBELL T.P |
| 4 July 2005 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Navajo Region Fire and Aviation Management | GANADO-01 |
| 20 July 2018 | Natural | under an acre | Navajo Region Fire and Aviation Management | NR 151 #2 |
| 19 July 2006 | Natural | under an acre | Navajo Region Fire and Aviation Management | MARY 01 |
| 18 July 2018 | Natural | under an acre | Navajo Region Fire and Aviation Management | NR 151 |
| 16 July 2010 | Debris and open burning | under an acre | Navajo Region Fire and Aviation Management | COOL FIRE |
Settlements close enough to share some of these fires:
Mines and quarries near this place
2 within 5 milesRegional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 2 workings within 5 miles of Ganado: 2 occurrences. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Pumice. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ganado Area | Pumice | Occurrence | ||
| Ganado Area | Pumice | Occurrence |
Storms near this place
4 since 2006Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Ganado in 4 storm reports between 2006 and 2022: 4 flash flood. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| August 2022 | Flash Flood | Ganado | - | Indian Route 15 from Burnside to Greasewood flooded in areas and there were puddles on the road. This is a paved road. |
| July 2018 | Flash Flood | Ganado | - | The Arizona Department of Transportation reported flooding of State Route 264 at milepost 438 near Burnside due to heavy rain that fell in the region. The road was closed for a couple hours as a preventative measure. |
| August 2018 | Flash Flood | Ganado | - | The Arizona Department of Transportation reported that State Route 264 was impassible in both directions at milepost 439 due to flash flooding caused by heavy rain. |
| July 2006 | Flash Flood | Ganado | - | no account filed |
Nearest settlements
The eight closest, with where each one stands in the county. Distances are straight-line, computed from the Geographic Names Information System coordinates.
| Map | Place | Distance | Sheets |
|---|---|---|---|
| Burnside | 5.2 miles | 16 | |
| Kinlichee | 6.9 miles | 19 | |
| Wood Springs | 8.2 miles | 19 | |
| Cornfields | 8.3 miles | 16 | |
| Woodspring Trading Post | 10.0 miles | 19 | |
| Sunrise Springs | 13.1 miles | 16 | |
| Nazlini | 13.7 miles | 19 | |
| Klagetoh | 14.5 miles | 16 |
Elsewhere
Matched on this settlement's Geographic Names Information System number rather than its name, so it cannot be a different place of the same name in another state.
| Wikipedia article on Ganado | An encyclopaedic summary. Its text is share-alike, so it is linked here rather than copied. |
| Wikidata item Q1493347 | The structured record the population and elevation above come from. Public domain (CC0). |
Provenance
This settlement is recorded in the Geographic Names Information System as feature 4920. The sheet list is computed by point-in-boundary test against the United States Geological Survey's historical topographic inventory. Both are works of the United States government and carry no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.








