BlockBefore

Solomonville Road Overpass

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1988.

From the record

One of 10 National Register listings published here for Greenlee County · listed in 1988 · category: Structure.

Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 structure as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. Old Safford Rd., 3.6 mi. S. of Clifton, Safford, 85533
  • When was it listed? September 1988
  • Category. structure
  • Also known as. Vehicular Bridges in Arizona MPS
  • Census division. Clifton
  • National Register reference number. 88001625 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

14 since 1994

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 14 fires within 5 miles of Solomonville Road Overpass between 1994 and 2020, burning about 343 acres in total. 4 started naturally. 1 was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined6
Natural4
Arson/incendiarism1
Debris and open burning1
Equipment and vehicle use1
Recreation and ceremony1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
6 August 1995Natural15 acresGila District OfficeMESA TANK
26 August 2016Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreGila District OfficeOLD SAFFORD
2 August 2020Natural1.0 acresGila District OfficeRATTLESNAKE
6 July 1994Arson/incendiarism320 acresGila District OfficeYORK
3 July 1995Equipment and vehicle use5.0 acresGila District OfficeGUTHRIE MT
16 July 1994Naturalunder an acreGila District OfficeGREENLEE
15 July 2003Naturalunder an acreApache-Sitgreaves National ForestWATER CANYON
8 May 2020Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreGila District OfficeTRUCK FIRE

Every fire recorded in Greenlee County

Mines and quarries near this property

10 of 11 shown

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 11 workings within 5 miles of Solomonville Road Overpass: 4 producers, 3 past producers, 3 unknowns, 1 occurrence. 4 still produce. What was taken out: Manganese, Gold, Geothermal, Copper. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
ADOT Gravel PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
Copper Bar Shaft and AditCopper, Gold, SilverPast Producer
Gila Hot Springs GroupManganese, Barium-BariteProducer1938
Chase Creek PlacersGoldProducerPlacer
Clifton - Morenci Placer DepositsGoldProducerGold
Clifton Copper MinesGeothermalUnknown
Gillard Hot SpringGeothermalUnknown
Red Rock ClaimsManganese, CopperOccurrence1953
Gila Hot Springs ClaimManganesePast Producer1954
Pyrolusite No. 1ManganesePast Producer

Every working recorded in Greenlee County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Solomonville Road Overpass0.5 miles1988
Gila River Bridge2.4 miles1988
Black Gap Bridge3.8 miles1988
Clifton Townsite Historic District4.2 miles1990
Park Avenue Bridge4.3 miles1988
Clifton Casa Grande Building4.3 miles1979

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 88001625 in Record Group 79.
Greenlee CountyAll 10 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.