From the record
One of 46 National Register listings published here for Navajo County · listed in 1997 · category: Building.
Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1997.
One of 46 National Register listings published here for Navajo County · listed in 1997 · category: Building.
Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 251 fires within 5 miles of Abner Ellsworth House between 1992 and 2020, burning about 151 acres in total. 46 started naturally. 9 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 107 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 66 |
| Natural | 46 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 9 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 8 |
| Smoking | 5 |
| Misuse of fire by a minor | 5 |
| Debris and open burning | 2 |
| Fireworks | 1 |
| Power generation/transmission/distribution | 1 |
| Other causes | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 8 September 2019 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Tombstone Volunteer Fire Department | NOT NAMED |
| 8 September 1997 | Natural | under an acre | Fort Apache Agency | BOUNDARY |
| 7 September 2020 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Arizona Department of Forestry and Fire Management - State Office | not named |
| 3 September 2019 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Tombstone Volunteer Fire Department | NOT NAMED |
| 27 September 2015 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Arizona Department of Forestry and Fire Management - State Office | 153720 |
| 26 September 1998 | Recreation and ceremony | under an acre | Apache-Sitgreaves National Forest | BAGNAL 3 |
| 23 September 1998 | Recreation and ceremony | under an acre | Apache-Sitgreaves National Forest | BAGNAL 2 |
| 17 September 2019 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Tombstone Volunteer Fire Department | NOT NAMED |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 10 workings within 5 miles of Abner Ellsworth House: 4 past producers, 4 producers, 2 unknowns. 4 still produce. What was taken out: Pumice, Sand and Gravel, Construction, Volcanic Materials, Coal. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Apache Coal | Coal, Iron | Past Producer | ||
| First Knoll Pit - Lakeside | Volcanic Materials | Past Producer | ||
| Owens Pit | Volcanic Materials | Past Producer | ||
| Gravel Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Unknown | ||
| Linden Pit & Plant | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Producer | ||
| Reidhead Sand & Rock Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Producer | ||
| Owens Pit | Pumice | Past Producer | ||
| Owens Pit | Pumice | Unknown | ||
| Second Knoll Pit | Pumice | Producer | ||
| Second Knoll Pit-East Si | Pumice | Producer |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Show Low, the town this property stands in, in 11 storm reports between 1996 and 2021: 3 hail, 2 flood, 2 lightning, 2 flash flood. The reports record 1 death and 1 injury. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| July 2013 | Lightning | Show Low | 1 killed | A 54 year old man was walking along the south edge of Scott Reservoir with two other people when he was stuck and killed by lightning. |
| August 2004 | Lightning | Show Low | 1 hurt | A woman was hit by lightning outside her home in Show Low. She was knocked unconscious for a short time and couldn't feel her legs when she regained consciousness. She was taken to the hospital for testing. She was able to return to work a few days later even though she still has some pain in her legs and back. |
| July 2021 | Flash Flood | Show Low | - | Heavy rain from a thunderstorm caused flooding on State Route 260 on the south side of Show Low. A car got stuck in the high water. Flooding was also reported east of Show Low near Highway 60 and Little Mormon Lake Road meet and on to the Second Knoll Shooting Range (Forest Road 206). |
| August 2018 | Hail | Show Low | - | One inch diameter hail was reported in the west part of Show Low. |
| September 2016 | Hail | Show Low | - | Trained spotters reported one half inch to one inch diameter hail covering the ground between 2 and 8 miles north of Show Low. |
| July 2014 | Heavy Rain | Show Low | - | A thunderstorm produced 1.75 inches of rain in about an hour at White Mountain Lake. Some small debris washed onto roads. |
| July 2008 | Hail | Show Low | - | A weather spotter 8 miles southwest of Show Low reported 3/4 inch diameter hail. |
| August 2006 | Flash Flood | Show Low | - | Flash flooding caused the closure of east bound Highway 60 about 7 miles east of Show Low. Debris was cleared from the road and it was reopened by 520 PM. |
| August 2001 | Funnel Cloud | Show Low | - | A funnel cloud was reported by an employee at a Show Low radio station. The funnel cloud extended half way to the ground near Porter Mountain. |
| August 1997 | Flood | Show Low | - | Minor flooding in the Show Low area. |
| August 1996 | Flood | Show Low | - | no account filed |
No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.
Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.
| Photograph | Property | Distance | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|
| Quinn Cabin | 6.8 miles | 2026 |
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 97000368 in Record Group 79. |
| Navajo County | All 46 listed properties in this county. |