From the record
One of 35 National Register listings published here for Placer County · listed in 2009 · category: Building.
Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2009. 14 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1891.
One of 35 National Register listings published here for Placer County · listed in 2009 · category: Building.
Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 856 fires within 5 miles of Carnegie Library between 1992 and 2020, burning about 2,734 acres in total. None started naturally. 97 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 503 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 124 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 97 |
| Smoking | 72 |
| Debris and open burning | 27 |
| Misuse of fire by a minor | 22 |
| Railroad operations and maintenance | 8 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 2 |
| Power generation/transmission/distribution | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 8 September 2018 | Smoking | under an acre | California Department of Forestry & Fire Protection | not named |
| 8 September 2012 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Nevada-Yuba-Placer Unit | COLIN |
| 8 September 2011 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Nevada-Yuba-Placer Unit | not named |
| 8 September 2011 | Equipment and vehicle use | under an acre | Nevada-Yuba-Placer Unit | not named |
| 8 September 2009 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | California Department of Forestry & Fire Protection | not named |
| 8 September 2006 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 20 acres | Nevada-Yuba-Placer Unit | PFE |
| 8 September 2006 | Arson/incendiarism | under an acre | California Department of Forestry & Fire Protection | not named |
| 8 September 2005 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | California Department of Forestry & Fire Protection | not named |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 44 workings within 5 miles of Carnegie Library: 16 unknowns, 15 occurrences, 8 producers, 5 past producers. 8 still produce. What was taken out: Granite, Stone, Crushed/Broken, Gold, Sand and Gravel, Construction. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| American Olean Colfax Mine | Clay, Stone | Producer | ||
| Union Granite Co. | Stone, Dimension | Producer | ||
| General Utility | Gold, Silver | Past Producer | ||
| Rocklin Quarries | Stone, Granite | Producer | ||
| Strap Ravine | Gold, Silver | Past Producer | ||
| Unidentified Quarries | Stone, Granite | Occurrence | ||
| Rocklin Quarry | Granite, Stone | Producer | ||
| Unnamed Quarries | Stone | Unknown | ||
| Collet Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Producer | ||
| Enwood Sand & Rock Co | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Roseville, the town this property stands in, in 12 storm reports between 1996 and 2020: 3 heavy rain, 3 flood, 2 flash flood, 2 hail. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| February 2000 | Heavy Rain | Roseville | $10,000 | no account filed |
| May 2020 | Funnel Cloud | Roseville | - | A member of the public sent pictures and video of what appears to be a possible funnel cloud. The person looked to be near Pleasant Grove and was looking to the southeast, about 10 miles from Roseville. Location is not approximate. |
| April 2020 | Flood | Roseville | - | California Highway Patrol reported flooding in roadway between PFE road and Walerga Road near Antelope, CA. Nearby small creek is rising. |
| April 2017 | Hail | Roseville | - | Photo of penny size hail in Roseville from photo on Twitter. |
| February 2017 | Flood | Roseville | - | Dry Creek flooding blocking Walerga Rd. near intersection with PFE Rd. |
| October 2016 | Hail | Roseville | - | Hail up to 1.25 inches in diamter was reported at the Fountains shopping complex in Roseville. Tree leaves and branches were reported down. |
| May 2015 | Heavy Rain | Roseville | - | Street flooding was reported at Martin Road and East Roseville Parkway from a thunderstorm. |
| December 2014 | Flood | Roseville | - | Roadway flooding at Douglas Blvd. and Sierra College Blvd. West bound lanes had two feet of water. |
| January 2000 | Heavy Rain | Roseville | - | no account filed |
| January 1997 | Flash Flood | Roseville | - | no account filed |
| January 1997 | Flash Flood | Roseville | - | no account filed |
| December 1996 | Thunderstorm Wind | Roseville | - | no account filed |
United States Geological Survey topographic sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the coordinate the National Park Service records for this property, then testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.
Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.
| Photograph | Property | Distance | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|
![]() | Haman House | 0.6 miles | 1976 |
| California Granite Company | 3.6 miles | 2012 | |
| Fiddyment Ranch Main Complex | 5.3 miles | 2010 |
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 09000199 in Record Group 79. |
| Placer County | All 35 listed properties in this county. |