From the record
One of 98 National Register listings published here for San Bernardino County · listed in 2021 · category: Structure.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2021. 12 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1910.
One of 98 National Register listings published here for San Bernardino County · listed in 2021 · category: Structure.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 7 fires within 5 miles of Piute Dry Corral between 1994 and 2013, burning about 590 acres in total. 4 started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Natural | 4 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 4 September 2004 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 12 acres | Mojave National Preserve | PIUTE |
| 21 September 1996 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 18 acres | Mojave National Preserve | CUBBE |
| 25 August 2013 | Natural | under an acre | Mojave National Preserve | LANFAIR |
| 31 July 1996 | Natural | 2.0 acres | Mojave National Preserve | BARBER |
| 27 July 1996 | Natural | 510 acres | Mojave National Preserve | PIUTE |
| 1 July 1994 | Natural | 3.0 acres | California Desert District | TOUNGSTON |
| 15 March 1998 | Recreation and ceremony | 45 acres | Lake Mead National Recreation Area | CCASSIST01 |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 7 workings within 5 miles of Piute Dry Corral: 3 prospects, 2 past producers, 1 occurrence, 1 plant. 1 still produces. What was taken out: Gold, Copper, Tungsten, Zinc, Copper, Lead, Silver, Silver, Gold. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lord and Irish | Gold, Tungsten, Zinc, Copper, Lead, Silver | Past Producer | ||
| Unnamed Prospect | Silver, Gold | Occurrence | ||
| Unnamed Prospect | Iron, Silver | Prospect | ||
| Unnamed | Gold, Copper | Past Producer | Gold | |
| Unnamed Prospect | Gold, Copper | Prospect | ||
| Unnamed Prospect | Gold, Copper | Prospect | ||
| Rattlesnake | Gold | Plant |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Goffs, the town this property stands in, in 6 storm reports between 2006 and 2025: 6 flash flood. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| September 2025 | Flash Flood | Goffs | $10,000 | Goffs Road was closed from Highway 95 to Interstate 40 due to flooding which damaged the road. |
| July 2018 | Flash Flood | Goffs | $2,000 | Flash flooding closed Goffs Road. |
| October 2015 | Flash Flood | Goffs | $2,000 | Goffs Road was closed due to two feet of water flowing over the road. |
| June 2025 | Flash Flood | Goffs | $1,000 | Goffs Road was flooded and closed. |
| August 2023 | Flash Flood | Goffs | $1,000 | Flash flooding closed Goffs Rd from I-40 to Highway 95. |
| October 2006 | Flash Flood | Goffs | - | Several roads in eastern San Bernardino County, including U.S. Hwy. 95, Needles Hwy, and Goffs Rd. were closed due to flooding. |
United States Geological Survey topographic sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the coordinate the National Park Service records for this property, then testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 100004582 in Record Group 79. |
| San Bernardino County | All 98 listed properties in this county. |