From the record
One of 98 National Register listings published here for San Bernardino County · listed in 2025 · category: Building.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2025. 9 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1953.
One of 98 National Register listings published here for San Bernardino County · listed in 2025 · category: Building.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
The ground this property stands on, surveyed 24 years apart. Drag the handle to wipe between them. Both sheets are United States Geological Survey originals; neither has been altered.


Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 14 fires within 5 miles of Alf's Blacksmith Shop between 1993 and 2020, burning about 324 acres in total. 3 started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Equipment and vehicle use | 6 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 4 |
| Natural | 3 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 26 September 1996 | Equipment and vehicle use | 3.0 acres | California Desert District | SOAPMINE |
| 2 September 1995 | Natural | 3.0 acres | California Desert District | ROCK |
| 14 August 2007 | Natural | under an acre | California Desert District | CAMP 2 |
| 19 July 2005 | Natural | 300 acres | California Desert District | SEGS |
| 13 July 2020 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | California Desert District | SILVER |
| 30 June 1997 | Equipment and vehicle use | under an acre | California Desert District | CALICO |
| 29 June 1996 | Equipment and vehicle use | under an acre | California Desert District | DAGGETT |
| 26 June 2020 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1.0 acres | San Bernardino Unit | I 15 S/ GHOST TOWN RD |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 38 workings within 5 miles of Alf's Blacksmith Shop: 17 past producers, 11 prospects, 6 occurrences, 3 producers. 3 still produce. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Bentonite, Barium-Barite, Boron-Borates. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Calico | Boron-Borates, Strontium | Past Producer | 1882, 1888, 1924 | |
| Claw Hammer | Copper, Gold | Occurrence | Underground | |
| Daggett/Yermo Site | Limestone, General | Occurrence | ||
| Lead Mountain | Barium-Barite, Lead, Silver, Gold, Zinc | Occurrence | Vein | |
| Lead Mountain | Barium-Barite, Lead, Silver | Past Producer | ||
| Brubaker Beige Rock Quarry | Volcanic Materials, Stone, Crushed/Broken | Producer | ||
| Calico Rock Milling's Beige Rock Qu | Volcanic Materials | Past Producer | ||
| Unnamed | Gold, Copper | Past Producer | Gold | |
| Unnamed Adit | Clay | Prospect | ||
| Unnamed Prospect | Gold, Copper | Prospect |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Daggett, the town this property stands in, in 4 storm reports between 2008 and 2025: 3 flash flood, 1 lightning. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| September 2024 | Lightning | Daggett | $25,000 | Lightning set fire to a transformer. |
| August 2025 | Flash Flood | Daggett | $2,000 | National Trails Highway at Nebo Street was blocked by significant water and debris flow. |
| August 2023 | Flash Flood | Daggett | $1,000 | Fast-moving water covered the intersection of I-15 and Fort Irwin Rd. |
| July 2008 | Flash Flood | Daggett | - | Water, mud and debris were crossing Yermo Road. |
United States Geological Survey topographic sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the coordinate the National Park Service records for this property, then testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 100011630 in Record Group 79. |
| San Bernardino County | All 98 listed properties in this county. |