BlockBefore
Photograph of Ontario and San Antonio Heights Waiting Station
Photograph by Einbierbitte, CC BY-SA 4.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Ontario and San Antonio Heights Waiting Station

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2012. 22 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1897.

From the record

One of 98 National Register listings published here for San Bernardino County · listed in 2012 · category: Building.

Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. 1251 W. 24th St., Upland, 91784
  • When was it listed? September 2012
  • Category. building
  • Census division. Ontario
  • National Register reference number. 12000813 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Then and now

1897 to 1995

The ground this property stands on, surveyed 98 years apart. Drag the handle to wipe between them. Both sheets are United States Geological Survey originals; neither has been altered.

Topographic sheet covering Ontario and San Antonio Heights Waiting Station, surveyed 1995
Topographic sheet covering Ontario and San Antonio Heights Waiting Station, surveyed 1897

Fires near this property

327 since 1992

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 327 fires within 5 miles of Ontario and San Antonio Heights Waiting Station between 1992 and 2020, burning about 12,598 acres in total. 8 started naturally. 84 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined89
Arson/incendiarism84
Equipment and vehicle use58
Recreation and ceremony33
Smoking16
Misuse of fire by a minor12
Fireworks11
Debris and open burning8
Natural8
Power generation/transmission/distribution7
Other causes1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
9 September 2002Arson/incendiarismunder an acreAngeles National ForestBARRETT
9 September 2002Arson/incendiarismunder an acreAngeles National ForestYUCCA
9 September 1994Misuse of fire by a minor110 acresSan Bernardino National ForestAMETHYST
8 September 2003Arson/incendiarismunder an acreAngeles National ForestTOP
5 September 2020Debris and open burning1.0 acresLos Angeles County Fire Departmentnot named
5 September 2004Smokingunder an acreAngeles National ForestPALMER
30 September 2010Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreCalifornia Department of Forestry & Fire Protectionnot named
3 September 1998Equipment and vehicle useunder an acreAngeles National ForestPADUA

Every fire recorded in San Bernardino County

Mines and quarries near this property

10 of 16 shown

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 16 workings within 5 miles of Ontario and San Antonio Heights Waiting Station: 10 past producers, 4 occurrences, 1 unknown, 1 producer. 1 still produces. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Tungsten, Graphite, Clay. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Big Horn MineGemstonePast Producer
San Antonio Canyon CorundumCorundumOccurrence
San Gabriel Canyon AreaGoldProducer
Unnamed LocationClayUnknown
Upland South PitSand and Gravel, Construction, Gold, SilverPast Producer
Barrett CanyonGraphitePast Producer
Eva CanyonGraphiteOccurrence
Marble CanyonTungstenOccurrence
Marble CanyonTungstenOccurrence
Campus PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer

Every working recorded in San Bernardino County

Storms near this property

8 since 1999

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Upland, the town this property stands in, in 8 storm reports between 1999 and 2024: 3 flood, 2 wildfire, 2 flash flood, 1 lightning. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
February 2004Flash FloodUpland$30,000no account filed
October 2005LightningUpland$1,500Lightning struck Hillside High School in Upland. A palm tree was ripped up and a few bricks came off of one of the school buildings. A power outage occurred at around the same time in Claremont and affected 1,552 customers.
March 2024FloodUpland-CalTrans report of flooding near I-10 W and 4th Street.
March 2024FloodUpland-CalTrans report of flooding in Lanes 1 and 2 of I-10 W near Euclid Ave.
May 2019Flash FloodUpland-Spotter reported flash flooding and a swift water rescue just north of Upland. It was reported that the vehicle lost control, flipped over and was taking on water.
October 1999WildfireUpland-About 70 acres were burned in a brush fire.
November 2003WildfireUpland-no account filed
April 2000FloodUpland-no account filed

Every storm recorded in San Bernardino County

Maps showing this location

22 surveys

United States Geological Survey topographic sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the coordinate the National Park Service records for this property, then testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Euclid Avenue1.1 miles2005
Maloof Workshop 13.2 miles2010
Sam and Alfreda Maloof Compound3.2 miles2010
Maloof Guesthouse3.2 miles2010
Maloof Main House3.2 miles2010
Old San Antonio Hospital3.7 miles1980

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 12000813 in Record Group 79.
San Bernardino CountyAll 98 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.