BlockBefore

Corral de Piedra

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1978. 12 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1897.

From the record

One of 32 National Register listings published here for San Luis Obispo County · listed in 1978 · category: Site.

Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 2 structuress, 1 site as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. S of San Luis Obispo on Price Canyon Rd., San Luis Obispo, 93401
  • When was it listed? May 1978
  • Category. site
  • Census division. San Luis Obispo
  • National Register reference number. 78000766 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Then and now

1897 to 1998

The ground this property stands on, surveyed 101 years apart. Drag the handle to wipe between them. Both sheets are United States Geological Survey originals; neither has been altered.

Topographic sheet covering Corral de Piedra, surveyed 1998
Topographic sheet covering Corral de Piedra, surveyed 1897

Fires near this property

370 since 1992

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 370 fires within 5 miles of Corral de Piedra between 1992 and 2020, burning about 7,009 acres in total. 8 started naturally. 11 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined165
Equipment and vehicle use124
Debris and open burning26
Misuse of fire by a minor14
Smoking12
Arson/incendiarism11
Natural8
Recreation and ceremony5
Power generation/transmission/distribution4
Railroad operations and maintenance1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
9 September 1994Equipment and vehicle useunder an acreSan Luis Obispo UnitSLU 3082
8 September 2009Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreCalifornia Department of Forestry & Fire Protectionnot named
7 September 2019Equipment and vehicle useunder an acreSan Luis Obispo UnitJOHNSON
7 September 2001Equipment and vehicle useunder an acreSan Luis Obispo UnitCASLU04171
6 September 2019Misuse of fire by a minorunder an acreSan Luis Obispo Unitnot named
4 September 1995Equipment and vehicle useunder an acreSan Luis Obispo UnitTIFFANY
30 September 2011Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreSan Luis Obispo UnitONTARIO RD / SAN LUIS BAY
3 September 1992Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresSan Luis Obispo UnitTANK

Every fire recorded in San Luis Obispo County

Mines and quarries near this property

10 of 25 shown

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 25 workings within 5 miles of Corral de Piedra: 10 occurrences, 6 past producers, 6 producers, 3 prospects. 6 still produce. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Diatomite, Manganese, Pumice. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
3 Bar 5 Ranch PitStone, DimensionProducer
Froom Ranch DepositChromiumProspect
Gravel PitStone, Crushed/BrokenPast Producer
Isom ProspectManganese, ChromiumProspect1918
Owen GroupUraniumProducer
San Luis Brick Works, Inc.ClayProducer
Unnamed Limestone DepositLimestone, GeneralOccurrence
Yoakum TractGold, Silver, CopperOccurrence
Yoakum TractCopper, Silver, GoldProspect
Unnamed Pumice OccurrencePumiceOccurrence

Every working recorded in San Luis Obispo County

Storms near this property

8 since 1998

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names San Luis Obispo, the town this property stands in, in 8 storm reports between 1998 and 2001: 7 flood, 1 tornado. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
January 1999FloodSan Luis Obispo-Urban flooding, along Los Osos road, was reported in the city of San Luis Obispo.
May 1998Tornado (F0)San Luis Obispo-A small tornado developed over the city of San Luis Obispo. The tornado knocked out power to several hundred homes. Also, four homes were damaged, including a home struck by a fallen cypress tree.
March 2001FloodSan Luis Obispo-no account filed
February 1998FloodSan Luis Obispo-no account filed
February 1998FloodSan Luis Obispo-no account filed
March 1998FloodSan Luis Obispo-no account filed
February 1998FloodSan Luis Obispo-no account filed
February 1998FloodSan Luis Obispo-no account filed

Every storm recorded in San Luis Obispo County

Maps showing this location

12 surveys

United States Geological Survey topographic sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the coordinate the National Park Service records for this property, then testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
John Price House3.3 miles1988
Pereira Octagon Barn4.3 miles2014
Arroyo Grande IOOF Hall5.6 miles1991
Pacific Coast Railway Company Grain Warehouse5.9 miles1988
Tribune-Republic Building5.9 miles1993
Myron Angel House6.0 miles1982

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 78000766 in Record Group 79.
San Luis Obispo CountyAll 32 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.