BlockBefore
Photograph of John Price House
Photograph by Jsweida, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

John Price House

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1988. 12 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1897.

From the record

“The John Price House, also known as the Price Anniversary House, is a historic house in Pismo Beach, California. Built from 1893 to 1894 for city founder John Michael Price, the house is the oldest building in Pismo Beach.”

Wikipedia article John Price House, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 32 National Register listings published here for San Luis Obispo County · listed in 1988 · category: District.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Listed as. Price, John, House - the National Register files a house under its owner's surname.
  • Address. Highland Dr. off Price Canyon Rd., Pismo Beach, 93449
  • When was it listed? November 1988
  • Category. district
  • Census division. Arroyo Grande
  • National Register reference number. 88002013 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Then and now

1897 to 1998

The ground this property stands on, surveyed 101 years apart. Drag the handle to wipe between them. Both sheets are United States Geological Survey originals; neither has been altered.

Topographic sheet covering John Price House, surveyed 1998
Topographic sheet covering John Price House, surveyed 1897

Fires near this property

364 since 1992

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 364 fires within 5 miles of John Price House between 1992 and 2020, burning about 2,122 acres in total. 4 started naturally. 19 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined188
Equipment and vehicle use85
Debris and open burning24
Arson/incendiarism19
Misuse of fire by a minor15
Smoking15
Recreation and ceremony8
Power generation/transmission/distribution6
Natural4

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
8 September 2009Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreCalifornia Department of Forestry & Fire Protectionnot named
8 September 2007Arson/incendiarism1.0 acresSan Luis Obispo UnitOCEANO DUNES STATE PA 125
5 September 1992Equipment and vehicle useunder an acreSan Luis Obispo UnitSLU 2313
4 September 2020Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresSan Luis Obispo UnitEMS3CDF/
4 September 1995Equipment and vehicle useunder an acreSan Luis Obispo UnitTIFFANY
30 September 2020Power generation/transmission/distributionunder an acreSan Luis Obispo UnitFAIR OAKS AVE AG
30 September 2011Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreSan Luis Obispo UnitONTARIO RD / SAN LUIS BAY
3 September 2007Smokingunder an acreCalifornia Department of Forestry & Fire Protectionnot named

Every fire recorded in San Luis Obispo County

Mines and quarries near this property

10 of 21 shown

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 21 workings within 5 miles of John Price House: 8 occurrences, 7 past producers, 6 producers. 6 still produce. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Diatomite, Pumice, Stone, Crushed/Broken. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Arroyo Grande Creek DepositGypsum-AnhydriteOccurrence
Oceano Sand PitStone, Crushed/BrokenProducer
Owen GroupUraniumProducer
Unnamed Limestone DepositLimestone, GeneralOccurrence
Unnamed Pumice OccurrencePumiceOccurrence
Unnamed Pumice OccurrencePumiceOccurrence
Los Penascos Ranch DepositDiatomiteOccurrence
Pismo Heights Co.DiatomiteOccurrence
Unnamed Diatomite DepositDiatomiteOccurrence
Unnamed Diatomite DepositDiatomiteOccurrence

Every working recorded in San Luis Obispo County

Storms near this property

4 since 1998

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Pismo Beach, the town this property stands in, in 4 storm reports between 1998 and 2023: 2 flood, 1 waterspout, 1 flash flood. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
January 2023Flash FloodPismo Beach-Significant flash flooding reported near Dolliver and Highway 1 intersection.
April 1998WaterspoutPismo Beach-A waterspout was reported by the Pismo Beach Fire Department.
January 2001FloodPismo Beach-no account filed
November 1998FloodPismo Beach-no account filed

Every storm recorded in San Luis Obispo County

Maps showing this location

12 surveys

United States Geological Survey topographic sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the coordinate the National Park Service records for this property, then testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.

Listed places nearby

5 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Corral de Piedra3.3 miles1978
Arroyo Grande IOOF Hall3.9 miles1991
Halcyon Historic District4.0 miles2017
Pereira Octagon Barn6.5 miles2014
San Luis Obispo Light Station6.8 miles1991

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 88002013 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
San Luis Obispo CountyAll 32 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.