From the record
One of 20 National Register listings published here for Garfield County · listed in 1998 · category: Building.
Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1998.
One of 20 National Register listings published here for Garfield County · listed in 1998 · category: Building.
Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 107 fires within 5 miles of Glenwood Springs Hydroelectric Plant between 1992 and 2020, burning about 32,998 acres in total. 38 started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 51 |
| Natural | 38 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 11 |
| Smoking | 3 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 2 |
| Fireworks | 1 |
| Debris and open burning | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 8 September 2000 | Natural | under an acre | Northwest District, Grand Junction | RAILROAD |
| 29 September 1998 | Natural | under an acre | Northwest District, Grand Junction | GLENWOOD |
| 26 September 2005 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 34 acres | Northwest District, Grand Junction | GFX ASSIST 17 |
| 24 September 2019 | Natural | under an acre | White River National Forest | GRIZZLY CREEK |
| 20 September 2010 | Natural | under an acre | Northwest District, Grand Junction | 19TH STREET |
| 20 September 2010 | Natural | under an acre | Northwest District, Grand Junction | OASIS CREEK |
| 2 September 2017 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Northwest District, Grand Junction | WALMART COMMAND |
| 13 September 2005 | Natural | under an acre | Northwest District, Grand Junction | RED CANYON |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 9 workings within 5 miles of Glenwood Springs Hydroelectric Plant: 3 producers, 3 past producers, 2 occurrences, 1 unknown. 3 still produce. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Limestone, Dimension, Limestone, General, Clay. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Glenwood Springs | Geothermal | Unknown | ||
| Strong Mine | Lead, Zinc | Past Producer | ||
| Unknown | Limestone, General | Producer | Limestone | |
| Unknown | Clay | Occurrence | Clay | |
| Glenwood Lime Quarry | Limestone, Dimension | Producer | ||
| Marblehead Quarry | Limestone, Dimension | Past Producer | ||
| Jammeron Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Producer | ||
| Unknown | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Occurrence | Sand and Gravel | |
| Unknown Gravel Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer |
No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.
Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.
| Photograph | Property | Distance | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|
![]() | Western Hotel | 0.2 miles | 2016 |
![]() | Citizens National Bank Building | 0.3 miles | 1999 |
![]() | Edward T. Taylor House | 0.4 miles | 1986 |
![]() | Starr Manor | 0.4 miles | 1986 |
![]() | Hotel Colorado | 1.6 miles | 1977 |
![]() | Sumers Lodge | 2.6 miles | 1997 |
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 98001244 in Record Group 79. |
| Garfield County | All 20 listed properties in this county. |