BlockBefore
Photograph of DeLeon Springs Colored School
Photograph by Ebyabe, CC BY 2.5. Via Wikimedia Commons.

DeLeon Springs Colored School

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2003. 5 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1954.

From the record

“DeLeon Springs Colored School (1929-1969) was a Rosenwald school from 1st to 8th grade for African American students in DeLeon Springs, Florida. It is listed on the National Register of Historic Places since 2003, and listed as part of the Florida's Historic Black Public Schools Multiple Property Submission since 2003.”

Wikipedia article DeLeon Springs Colored School, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 93 National Register listings published here for Volusia County · listed in 2003 · category: Building.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 3 buildingss as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. 330 E. Retta St., DeLeon Springs, 32130
  • When was it listed? August 2003
  • Category. building
  • Also known as. Florida's Historic Black Public Schools MPS; Florida's Historic Black Public Schools MPS
  • Census division. DeLand
  • Architect. Samuel L. Smith
  • National Register reference number. 03000702 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

176 since 1992

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 176 fires within 5 miles of DeLeon Springs Colored School between 1992 and 2020, burning about 984 acres in total. 59 started naturally. 6 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Natural59
Debris and open burning32
Missing data/not specified/undetermined31
Railroad operations and maintenance16
Equipment and vehicle use12
Recreation and ceremony6
Arson/incendiarism6
Misuse of fire by a minor5
Power generation/transmission/distribution5
Other causes2
Smoking2

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
9 September 2017Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFlorida Forest ServiceSPRING GARDEN (64)
6 September 1992Natural100 acresLake Woodruff National Wildlife RefugeGATOR LAKE
5 September 2008Debris and open burningunder an acreFlorida Forest ServiceWF ARREDONDO 0718
4 September 2013Naturalunder an acreFlorida Forest ServiceFEASERS & 17 (64)
18 September 2013Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresFlorida Forest ServiceREYNOLDS ROAD FIRE(64)
4 August 1993Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFlorida Forest Servicenot named
3 August 1993Naturalunder an acreFlorida Forest Servicenot named
29 August 2007Missing data/not specified/undetermined2.0 acresFlorida Forest ServiceWF STRAWN FIRE

Every fire recorded in Volusia County

Maps showing this location

5 surveys

United States Geological Survey topographic sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the coordinate the National Park Service records for this property, then testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 03000702 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Volusia CountyAll 93 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.