BlockBefore
Photograph of Orange Springs Methodist Episcopal Church and Cemetery
Photograph by Ebyabe, CC BY 2.5. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Orange Springs Methodist Episcopal Church and Cemetery

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1988. 10 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1915.

From the record

“The Orange Springs Methodist Episcopal Church and Cemetery is a historic church in Orange Springs, Florida. It is located at SR 315 and Church Street.”

Wikipedia article Orange Springs Methodist Episcopal Church and Cemetery, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 32 National Register listings published here for Marion County · listed in 1988 · category: Building.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building, 1 site as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. SR 315 and Church St., Orange Springs, 32134
  • When was it listed? December 1988
  • Category. building
  • Census division. Fort McCoy-Anthony
  • National Register reference number. 88002805 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Then and now

1915 to 1993

The ground this property stands on, surveyed 78 years apart. Drag the handle to wipe between them. Both sheets are United States Geological Survey originals; neither has been altered.

Topographic sheet covering Orange Springs Methodist Episcopal Church and Cemetery, surveyed 1993
Topographic sheet covering Orange Springs Methodist Episcopal Church and Cemetery, surveyed 1915

Fires near this property

215 since 1992

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 215 fires within 5 miles of Orange Springs Methodist Episcopal Church and Cemetery between 1992 and 2020, burning about 3,102 acres in total. 67 started naturally. 18 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Natural67
Missing data/not specified/undetermined37
Debris and open burning35
Equipment and vehicle use24
Arson/incendiarism18
Railroad operations and maintenance16
Power generation/transmission/distribution5
Other causes5
Misuse of fire by a minor4
Recreation and ceremony3
Smoking1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
22 September 2014Natural1.0 acresFlorida Forest ServiceKENWOOD DRIVE (54)
21 September 1997Arson/incendiarism3.5 acresFlorida Forest Servicenot named
9 August 2006Missing data/not specified/undetermined5.0 acresFlorida Forest ServicePUTNAM/DEAD-END FIRE
8 August 1993Railroad operations and maintenanceunder an acreFlorida Forest Servicenot named
24 August 1993Railroad operations and maintenance4.0 acresFlorida Forest Servicenot named
19 August 1993Naturalunder an acreFlorida Forest Servicenot named
17 August 1995Natural4.0 acresFlorida Forest Servicenot named
14 August 2020Natural1.0 acresFlorida Forest ServiceNW 220TH ST (42)

Every fire recorded in Marion County

Maps showing this location

10 surveys

United States Geological Survey topographic sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the coordinate the National Park Service records for this property, then testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.

Listed places nearby

1 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
James W. Townsend House0.3 miles1988

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 88002805 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Marion CountyAll 32 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.