BlockBefore

Frogtown, Georgia

18 topographic sheets cover this place, the earliest surveyed in 1896 and the latest in 1988. It stands in the Bogart census division. It lies in ZIP code area 30666. The Survey maps it on the Statham quadrangle.

Frogtown within Oconee County

Topographic sheets covering this place

8 surveys from 18 printed sheets

Matched by testing this settlement's coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet in the United States Geological Survey's historical collection. Each opens the scanned sheet at the Survey.

Fires near this place

124 since 1992

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 124 fires within 5 miles of Frogtown between 1992 and 2020, burning about 336 acres in total. 6 started naturally. 13 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Debris and open burning63
Arson/incendiarism13
Equipment and vehicle use12
Missing data/not specified/undetermined8
Smoking7
Recreation and ceremony7
Misuse of fire by a minor7
Natural6
Railroad operations and maintenance1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
8 September 2008Equipment and vehicle useunder an acreGeorgia Forestry Commissionnot named
3 September 1993Debris and open burning1.6 acresGeorgia Forestry Commissionnot named
12 September 2003Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreGeorgia Forestry Commissionnot named
8 August 1999Recreation and ceremony6.4 acresGeorgia Forestry Commissionnot named
7 August 1995Arson/incendiarismunder an acreGeorgia Forestry Commissionnot named
6 August 1999Debris and open burningunder an acreGeorgia Forestry Commissionnot named
30 August 2011Misuse of fire by a minor2.0 acresGeorgia Forestry CommissionFY2012-WALTON-001
22 August 1993Railroad operations and maintenanceunder an acreGeorgia Forestry Commissionnot named

Settlements close enough to share some of these fires:

Every fire recorded in Oconee County

Mines and quarries near this place

2 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 2 workings within 5 miles of Frogtown: 2 prospects. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Manganese, Mica. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
H B Marble ProspectManganeseProspect
Thomas ProspectMicaProspect

Every working recorded in Oconee County

Storms near this place

2 since 2009

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Frogtown in 2 storm reports between 2009 and 2020: 1 flash flood, 1 thunderstorm wind. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
June 2020Thunderstorm WindFrogtown$5,000The Oconee County Manager reported trees and power lines blown down from around the intersection of Hebron Church Road and Dove Creek Road to around the intersection of Moores Ford Road and Lane Creek Road.
September 2009Flash FloodFrogtown$5,000The Oconee County Emergency Management Director reported minor flash flooding in some parts of the county as rainfall exceeded six inches in a 12-hour period. One road in a Bogart subdivision was closed because of flooding. Damage was confined to minor debris removal.

Every storm recorded in Oconee County

Nearest settlements

The eight closest, with where each one stands in the county. Distances are straight-line, computed from the Geographic Names Information System coordinates.

Map PlaceDistance Sheets
Ashland1.1 miles18
Englewood3.1 miles18
Pleasant Hills3.5 miles18
Fernwood3.5 miles18
Oak Grove4.0 miles18
Allen4.4 miles18
Pine Ridge4.4 miles18
Osceola Village4.4 miles18

Provenance

This settlement is recorded in the Geographic Names Information System as feature 356738. The sheet list is computed by point-in-boundary test against the United States Geological Survey's historical topographic inventory. Both are works of the United States government and carry no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.

Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.

Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.

Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.