BlockBefore
Photograph of Bowman-Pirkle House
Photograph by Jean Buckley, Public domain. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Bowman-Pirkle House

Built in 1818. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1973.

From the record

One of 22 National Register listings published here for Hall County · listed in 1973 · category: Building · built in 1818.

Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service · the Wikipedia article

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. NE of Buford off U.S. 23 on Friendship Rd., Buford, 30518
  • When was it listed? August 1973
  • Category. building
  • Census division. Flowery Branch
  • When was it built? 1818
  • National Register reference number. 73000623 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

174 since 1992

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 174 fires within 5 miles of Bowman-Pirkle House between 1992 and 2018, burning about 435 acres in total. 4 started naturally. 37 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Debris and open burning70
Arson/incendiarism37
Missing data/not specified/undetermined19
Misuse of fire by a minor18
Equipment and vehicle use13
Smoking7
Recreation and ceremony6
Natural4

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
5 September 2003Equipment and vehicle useunder an acreGeorgia Forestry Commissionnot named
30 September 1993Recreation and ceremonyunder an acreGeorgia Forestry Commissionnot named
3 September 2011Arson/incendiarism6.4 acresGeorgia Forestry CommissionFY2012-HALL-005
25 September 1999Arson/incendiarism14 acresGeorgia Forestry Commissionnot named
24 September 2004Misuse of fire by a minorunder an acreGeorgia Forestry Commissionnot named
16 September 1999Arson/incendiarism2.7 acresGeorgia Forestry Commissionnot named
5 August 1998Missing data/not specified/undetermined9.6 acresGeorgia Forestry Commissionnot named
22 August 2002Natural3.4 acresGeorgia Forestry CommissionFY2003-GWINNETT-003

Every fire recorded in Hall County

Mines and quarries near this property

2 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 2 workings within 5 miles of Bowman-Pirkle House: 1 producer, 1 past producer. 1 still produces. What was taken out: Stone, Crushed/Broken, Gold. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Banks PropertyGoldPast ProducerVein
Friendship QuarryStone, Crushed/BrokenProducer

Every working recorded in Hall County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

2 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Friendship Baptist Church Cemetery2.3 miles2019
Flowery Branch Commercial Historic District3.4 miles1985

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 73000623 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Hall CountyAll 22 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.