BlockBefore

Langston-Daniel House

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1978.

From the record

One of 12 National Register listings published here for Oglethorpe County · listed in 1978 · category: Building.

Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • Address. 5 mi. (8 km) W of Crawford on U.S. 78, Crawford, 30619
  • When was it listed? January 1978
  • Category. building
  • Census division. Crawford
  • National Register reference number. 78000998 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

178 since 1992

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 178 fires within 5 miles of Langston-Daniel House between 1992 and 2019, burning about 288 acres in total. 9 started naturally. 25 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Debris and open burning81
Arson/incendiarism25
Missing data/not specified/undetermined20
Equipment and vehicle use18
Misuse of fire by a minor11
Natural9
Smoking9
Recreation and ceremony5

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
8 September 1999Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreGeorgia Forestry Commissionnot named
7 September 2010Debris and open burningunder an acreGeorgia Forestry CommissionFY2011-OGLETHORPE-009
6 September 2019Debris and open burning2.5 acresGeorgia Forestry CommissionFY2020OGLETHORPE009
6 September 1996Debris and open burning1.8 acresGeorgia Forestry Commissionnot named
30 September 2016Debris and open burningunder an acreGeorgia Forestry CommissionFY2017-OGLETHORPE-006
26 September 1993Debris and open burning2.2 acresGeorgia Forestry Commissionnot named
26 September 1993Debris and open burning1.1 acresGeorgia Forestry Commissionnot named
26 September 1993Arson/incendiarismunder an acreGeorgia Forestry Commissionnot named

Every fire recorded in Oglethorpe County

Mines and quarries near this property

1 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 1 working within 5 miles of Langston-Daniel House: 1 producer. All of them still produce. What was taken out: Granite. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Gold Eagle QuarryGraniteProducer

Every working recorded in Oglethorpe County

Storms near this property

11 since 1994

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Crawford, the town this property stands in, in 11 storm reports between 1994 and 2020: 8 thunderstorm wind, 2 hail, 1 flash flood. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
November 2016Thunderstorm WindCrawford$8,000The Oglethorpe County 911 center reported multiple trees blown down from the Arnoldsville, Crawford and Lexington areas to just south of Comer. Some locations include Dora Hill Bush Road, Arnoldsville Road, Collier Church Road, Washington Road and Hutchins Road.
August 2016Thunderstorm WindCrawford$6,000The Oglethorpe County 911 center reported trees blown down from south of Crawford along Hutchens Road to Lexington.
June 1994Thunderstorm WindCrawford$5,000Several large trees were downed by thunderstorm winds.
June 2020Thunderstorm WindCrawford$3,000The Oglethorpe County Emergency Manager reported trees blown down from Hutchins Road in Crawford to Union Point Road in Lexington.
March 2017Flash FloodCrawford$3,000The Emergency Manager reported that flash flooding from heavy rain overwhelmed a pipe under the a section of roadway near Bunker Rill Road and Athens Road causing erosion under the roadway and an eventual washout.
August 2004Thunderstorm WindCrawford$3,000The Oglethorpe County Emergency Management Director reported that several trees and a few power lines were blown down in the Sandy Cross area. The Oglethorpe County 911 Center reported that one tree was down in Crawford.
July 2008Thunderstorm WindCrawford$1,500The Oglethorpe County 911 Center reported that up to seven trees were blown down along Georgia Highway 77.
June 2010Thunderstorm WindCrawford$1,000The Oglethorpe County 911 Center reported that two trees and one power line were down east of Crawford. A tree was down on U.S. Highway 78 just east of Georgia Highway 22 and a tree was down on a power line on Elberton Road in Lexington.
August 2006Thunderstorm WindCrawford$250The Ogelthorpe County 911 Center reported that one tree was blown down along Georgia Highway 77.
February 2005HailCrawford-The Oglethorpe County 911 Center reported quarter-sized hail in Crawford. The public reported nickel-sized hail in Lexington.
June 1999HailCrawford-no account filed

Every storm recorded in Oglethorpe County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

4 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Crawford Depot3.6 miles1977
Amis-Elder House6.0 miles1978
Lexington Historic District6.4 miles1977
Howard's Covered Bridge7.9 miles1975

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 78000998 in Record Group 79.
Oglethorpe CountyAll 12 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.