BlockBefore

Historic Churches of Canon Historic District

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1985.

From the record

“The Historic Churches of Canon Historic District in Canon, Georgia is a historic district, 2 acres (0.81 ha) in size, which was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1985. The listing included three contributing buildings.”

Wikipedia article Historic Churches of Canon Historic District, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 43 National Register listings published here for Franklin County · listed in 1985 · category: District.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • Address. Broad St. at Canon Ave., Canon, 30520
  • When was it listed? August 1985
  • Category. district
  • Census division. Royston
  • National Register reference number. 85001680 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

212 since 1992

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 212 fires within 5 miles of Historic Churches of Canon Historic District between 1992 and 2020, burning about 352 acres in total. 1 started naturally. 16 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Debris and open burning132
Equipment and vehicle use20
Missing data/not specified/undetermined16
Arson/incendiarism16
Railroad operations and maintenance12
Smoking10
Recreation and ceremony3
Misuse of fire by a minor2
Natural1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
9 September 1994Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreGeorgia Forestry Commissionnot named
5 September 2018Debris and open burningunder an acreGeorgia Forestry CommissionFY2019FRANKLIN001
5 September 2007Debris and open burning1.6 acresGeorgia Forestry Commissionnot named
5 September 2005Debris and open burningunder an acreGeorgia Forestry Commissionnot named
28 September 2007Debris and open burningunder an acreGeorgia Forestry Commissionnot named
27 September 2019Debris and open burningunder an acreGeorgia Forestry CommissionFY2020FRANKLIN006
23 September 1997Debris and open burningunder an acreGeorgia Forestry Commissionnot named
22 September 2010Debris and open burningunder an acreGeorgia Forestry CommissionFY2011-HART-005

Every fire recorded in Franklin County

Mines and quarries near this property

10 of 16 shown

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 16 workings within 5 miles of Historic Churches of Canon Historic District: 8 past producers, 6 occurrences, 1 plant, 1 prospect. 1 still produces. What was taken out: Mica, Gold. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Hays PropertyGoldPast ProducerPlacer
Unknown/Bowers PropertiesGoldPast ProducerVein
Winter PropertyGoldProspectPlacer
Banister MineMicaPast Producer
Bromer Ayers DepositMicaOccurrence
Garner MineMicaPast Producer
Green Rose MineMicaPast Producer
Hartwell Quarry & MillMicaPlant1919
Highway DepositsMicaOccurrence
Horse Head MineMicaPast Producer

Every working recorded in Franklin County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Canon Commercial Historic Districtunder 500 feet1985
Royston Commercial Historic District4.0 miles1985
Crawford-Shirley House5.8 miles1983
Lavonia Cotton Mill5.8 miles1983
Stovall Homeplace5.9 miles1983
Adams House6.0 miles1983

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 85001680 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Franklin CountyAll 43 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.