From the record
One of 258 National Register listings published here for Fulton County · listed in 1985 · category: District.
Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1985.
One of 258 National Register listings published here for Fulton County · listed in 1985 · category: District.
Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 22 fires within 5 miles of East Point Industrial District between 1992 and 2016, burning about 68 acres in total. None started naturally. 8 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Arson/incendiarism | 8 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 4 |
| Debris and open burning | 3 |
| Misuse of fire by a minor | 3 |
| Smoking | 2 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 2 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 12 September 2002 | Debris and open burning | 7.5 acres | Georgia Forestry Commission | FY2003-FULTON SOUTH-001 |
| 4 August 2007 | Smoking | 1.0 acres | Georgia Forestry Commission | not named |
| 17 August 1995 | Arson/incendiarism | under an acre | Georgia Forestry Commission | not named |
| 15 August 1995 | Misuse of fire by a minor | under an acre | Georgia Forestry Commission | not named |
| 14 August 1995 | Misuse of fire by a minor | 1.9 acres | Georgia Forestry Commission | not named |
| 26 July 1995 | Arson/incendiarism | under an acre | Georgia Forestry Commission | not named |
| 18 July 2000 | Smoking | 15 acres | Georgia Forestry Commission | FY2001-CLAYTON-006 |
| 18 May 2001 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1.0 acres | Georgia Forestry Commission | FY2001-FULTON SOUTH-002 |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 1 working within 5 miles of East Point Industrial District: 1 producer. All of them still produce. What was taken out: Stone, Crushed/Broken. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ben Hill Div. Quarry | Stone, Crushed/Broken | Producer |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names East Point, the town this property stands in, in 1 storm report in 1995: 1 thunderstorm wind. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| August 1995 | Thunderstorm Wind | East Point | $500 | Thunderstorm winds blew power lines down. |
No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.
Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.
| Photograph | Property | Distance | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|
| Washington Carver Homes | 0.7 miles | 2023 | |
| Sperry & Hutchinson Company Warehouse | 1.5 miles | 2021 | |
| College Park Historic District | 1.6 miles | 1996 | |
![]() | Jeremiah S. Gilbert House | 1.8 miles | 1980 |
| Hapeville Historic District | 2.1 miles | 2009 | |
| Staff Row and Old Post Area (Boundary Increase) | 2.1 miles | 2013 |
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 85001971 in Record Group 79. |
| Fulton County | All 258 listed properties in this county. |