BlockBefore

Olgetree Farm

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1997.

From the record

One of 37 National Register listings published here for Habersham County · listed in 1997 · category: District.

Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • Address. Jct. of Pea Ridge Rd. and Paradise Park Rd., View, 30531
  • When was it listed? July 1997
  • Category. district
  • Census division. Cornelia
  • National Register reference number. 97000753 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

243 since 1992

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 243 fires within 5 miles of Olgetree Farm between 1992 and 2020, burning about 248 acres in total. 3 started naturally. 28 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Debris and open burning171
Arson/incendiarism28
Missing data/not specified/undetermined15
Equipment and vehicle use9
Misuse of fire by a minor9
Smoking5
Recreation and ceremony3
Natural3

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
25 September 1998Debris and open burningunder an acreGeorgia Forestry Commissionnot named
15 September 2010Debris and open burningunder an acreGeorgia Forestry CommissionFY2011-BANKS-001
12 September 2002Debris and open burningunder an acreGeorgia Forestry CommissionFY2003-HABERSHAM-013
10 September 2007Debris and open burningunder an acreGeorgia Forestry Commissionnot named
1 September 2011Debris and open burningunder an acreGeorgia Forestry CommissionFY2012-WHITE-001
9 August 1997Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreGeorgia Forestry Commissionnot named
8 August 2002Debris and open burning6.1 acresGeorgia Forestry CommissionFY2003-HABERSHAM-012
7 August 2002Debris and open burningunder an acreGeorgia Forestry CommissionFY2003-HABERSHAM-011

Every fire recorded in Habersham County

Mines and quarries near this property

9 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 9 workings within 5 miles of Olgetree Farm: 4 past producers, 3 prospects, 2 producers. 2 still produce. What was taken out: Gold, Stone, Crushed/Broken, Iron. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Piedmont College FarmIronPast ProducerResidual
Habersham QuarryStone, Crushed/BrokenProducer
Habersham QuarryStone, Crushed/BrokenPast Producer
Stamborough QuarryStone, Crushed/BrokenProducer
Chatman EstateGoldPast ProducerStream Placer
Crow (L.W. Bowen) MineGoldProspectPlacer, Some Vein Prospecting Also
Crow Heirs MineGoldPast ProducerStream Placer
Elrod, T.GoldProspectPlacer
J. Loudermilk (J. Perkins)GoldProspectPlacer, Some Vein Prospecting Also

Every working recorded in Habersham County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Demorest Commercial Historic District3.4 miles1989
Pyle-Davis House3.5 miles2003
Demorest Women's Club3.6 miles2008
Irvin General Merchandise Store4.4 miles1984
Cornelia Commercial Historic District4.4 miles2022
Loudermilk Boarding House4.5 miles2001

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 97000753 in Record Group 79.
Habersham CountyAll 37 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.