BlockBefore
Photograph of Pu'u'opae Bridge
Photograph by Joel Bradshaw, Public domain. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Pu'u'opae Bridge

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2005.

From the record

One of 39 National Register listings published here for Kauai County · listed in 2005 · category: Structure.

Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service · the Wikipedia article

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 structure as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. Pu'u'opae Rd. between Kalama & Kipapa Rds., Kapa'a, 96746
  • When was it listed? May 2005
  • Category. structure
  • Census division. Wailua-Anahola
  • National Register reference number. 05000536 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

220 since 2001

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 220 fires within 5 miles of Pu'u'opae Bridge between 2001 and 2016, burning about 2,601 acres in total. None started naturally. 1 was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined216
Equipment and vehicle use2
Arson/incendiarism1
Fireworks1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
5 September 2011Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreCounty of Kaua'inot named
5 September 2006Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreCounty of Kaua'inot named
30 September 2012Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreCounty of Kaua'inot named
30 September 2010Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreCounty of Kaua'inot named
3 September 2009Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreCounty of Kaua'inot named
28 September 2012Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreCounty of Kaua'inot named
27 September 2010Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreCounty of Kaua'inot named
26 September 2011Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreCounty of Kaua'inot named

Every fire recorded in Kauai County

Mines and quarries near this property

1 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 1 working within 5 miles of Pu'u'opae Bridge: 1 prospect. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Aluminum, Iron, Phosphorus-Phosphates, Titanium, Water, Free, Silica. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
East Central Kauai DepositAluminum, Iron, Phosphorus-Phosphates, Titanium, Water, Free, SilicaProspect1949

Every working recorded in Kauai County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Opaekaa Road Bridge0.7 miles1983
Wailua Complex of Heiaus2.1 miles1966
Coco Palms Resort2.4 miles2021
Seto Building4.8 miles1979
Lihue Hongwanji Mission5.1 miles1978
Lihue Civic Center Historic District6.2 miles1981

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 05000536 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Kauai CountyAll 39 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.