BlockBefore

Sueoka Market

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2019.

From the record

One of 39 National Register listings published here for Kauai County · listed in 2019 · category: Building.

Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. 5392 Koloa Rd., Koloa, 96756
  • When was it listed? August 2019
  • Category. building
  • Census division. Koloa-Poipu
  • National Register reference number. 100004288 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Fires near this property

113 since 2001

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 113 fires within 5 miles of Sueoka Market between 2001 and 2012, burning about 598 acres in total. None started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined113

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
9 September 2008Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresCounty of Kaua'inot named
9 September 2007Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreState of Hawaiinot named
7 September 2005Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresCounty of Kaua'inot named
6 September 2006Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreCounty of Kaua'inot named
4 September 2005Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreCounty of Kaua'inot named
30 September 2012Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresCounty of Kaua'inot named
20 September 2009Missing data/not specified/undetermined200 acresCounty of Kaua'inot named
16 September 2012Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreCounty of Kaua'inot named

Every fire recorded in Kauai County

Mines and quarries near this property

3 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 3 workings within 5 miles of Sueoka Market: 2 past producers, 1 producer. 1 still produces. What was taken out: Pumice, Stone, Calcium. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Chang MillStonePast Producer
Kapeku Cinder PitPumicePast Producer
Mahaulepu Quarry and MillCalciumProducer

Every working recorded in Kauai County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Old Sugar Mill of Koloa0.1 miles1966
Sakuichi and Chieko Matsumoto Residence2.2 miles2024
Grove Farm Company Locomotives6.2 miles1979
Menehune Fishpond6.7 miles1973
Grove Farm (Boundary Increase)7.7 miles1978
Grove Farm7.7 miles1974

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 100004288 in Record Group 79.
Kauai CountyAll 39 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.