BlockBefore

Barbers Point Light

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2024.

From the record

One of 154 National Register listings published here for Honolulu County · listed in 2024 · category: Structure.

Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 structure as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. Southwest end of Olai Street, 0.1 mile west of Barbers Point Beach Park, Kapolei, 96707
  • When was it listed? March 2024
  • Category. structure
  • Also known as. Light Stations of the United States MPS
  • Census division. Ewa
  • National Register reference number. 100010117 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Fires near this property

707 since 2001

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 707 fires within 5 miles of Barbers Point Light between 2001 and 2013, burning about 1,266 acres in total. None started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined707

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
9 September 2001Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreCity and County of Honolulunot named
8 September 2008Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreCity and County of Honolulunot named
8 September 2006Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreCity and County of Honolulunot named
8 September 2003Missing data/not specified/undetermined4.0 acresCity and County of Honolulunot named
7 September 2003Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreCity and County of Honolulunot named
6 September 2008Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreCity and County of Honolulunot named
5 September 2009Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreCity and County of Honolulunot named
5 September 2003Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.5 acresCity and County of Honolulunot named

Every fire recorded in Honolulu County

Mines and quarries near this property

4 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 4 workings within 5 miles of Barbers Point Light: 3 producers, 1 past producer. 3 still produce. What was taken out: Calcium, Limestone, General, Clay, Stone. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Cyprus Hawaiian Cement Corp.Limestone, General, ClayProducer
Makakilo Quarry and MillStoneProducer
Barbers Point Limestone PitCalciumPast Producer
Barbers Point MillCalciumProducer

Every working recorded in Honolulu County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

2 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Ewa Plain Battlefield3.9 miles2016
Oahu Railway and Land Company Right-of-Way5.8 miles1975

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 100010117 in Record Group 79.
Honolulu CountyAll 154 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.