BlockBefore
Photograph of James J. and Anna J. (Linean) Smith House No. 2
Photograph by Kerrylaw, CC BY-SA 4.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Smith, James J. and Anna J. (Linean), House #2

Built in 1864. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2020.

From the record

“(Linean) Smith House No. 2, also known as the D.L. and Margaret (Craig) Boyd House, is a historic building located in Mount Vernon, Iowa, United States. It is significant for its association with the settlement of the city that was influenced by the establishment of the Military Road, its use of locally made brick and locally quarried limestone, and its vernacular architectural techniques.”

Wikipedia article James J. and Anna J. (Linean) Smith House No. 2, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 121 National Register listings published here for Linn County · listed in 2020 · category: Building · built in 1864.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building, 1 object as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. 201 2nd Ave. NW, Mount Vernon, 52314
  • When was it listed? August 2020
  • Category. building
  • Also known as. Mount Vernon MPS
  • Township. Franklin township
  • When was it built? 1864
  • National Register reference number. 100005497 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Fires near this property

3 since 2010

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 3 fires within 5 miles of Smith, James J. and Anna J. (Linean), House #2 between 2010 and 2015, burning about 27 acres in total. None started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Debris and open burning2
Missing data/not specified/undetermined1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
13 April 2010Missing data/not specified/undetermined2.0 acresIowa Department of Natural Resources1750 YEISLEY RD., LINN TWP, IOWA
20 March 2015Debris and open burning10 acresIowa Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
4 January 2012Debris and open burning15 acresIowa Department of Natural Resourcesnot named

Every fire recorded in Linn County

Mines and quarries near this property

7 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 7 workings within 5 miles of Smith, James J. and Anna J. (Linean), House #2: 5 past producers, 2 producers. 2 still produce. What was taken out: Stone, Crushed/Broken, Sand and Gravel, Construction. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Ivanhoe Sand PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
Lisbon QuarryStone, Crushed/BrokenProducer
Mc Cune QuarryStone, Crushed/BrokenPast Producer
UnknownStone, Crushed/BrokenPast Producer
UnknownStone, Crushed/BrokenPast Producer
UnknownStone, Crushed/BrokenPast Producer
UnknownStone, Crushed/BrokenPast Producer

Every working recorded in Linn County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 100005497 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Linn CountyAll 121 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.