From the record
One of 19 National Register listings published here for Dallas County · listed in 2021 · category: District.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2021.
One of 19 National Register listings published here for Dallas County · listed in 2021 · category: District.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 5 fires within 5 miles of Dayton Stagecoach Inn and Tavern Historic District between 2006 and 2020, burning about 73 acres in total. None started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 4 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 15 March 2006 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 30 acres | Iowa Department of Natural Resources | not named |
| 4 November 2010 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 20 acres | Iowa Department of Natural Resources | 141ST & WILLIS AVE, PERRY, IOWA |
| 2 November 2010 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Iowa Department of Natural Resources | 26122 141ST ST., IOWA |
| 6 October 2020 | Equipment and vehicle use | 20 acres | Iowa Department of Natural Resources | not named |
| 29 October 2010 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 3.0 acres | Iowa Department of Natural Resources | 330TH ST., 1300 BLOCK, WOODWARD, IOWA |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 4 workings within 5 miles of Dayton Stagecoach Inn and Tavern Historic District: 4 past producers. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Bouton, the town this property stands in, in 17 storm reports between 2005 and 2024: 6 thunderstorm wind, 5 hail, 4 flood, 1 flash flood. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| August 2010 | Flood | Bouton | $100,000 | no account filed |
| May 2015 | Thunderstorm Wind | Bouton | $50,000 | Multiple large trees over 12 inches in diameter were blown down throughout town. |
| March 2010 | Flood | Bouton | $25,000 | no account filed |
| June 2010 | Flood | Bouton | $25,000 | no account filed |
| June 2009 | Hail | Bouton | $20,000 | no account filed |
| September 2007 | Thunderstorm Wind | Bouton | $10,000 | no account filed |
| September 2007 | Thunderstorm Wind | Bouton | $10,000 | no account filed |
| September 2005 | Thunderstorm Wind | Bouton | $3,000 | no account filed |
| June 2009 | Hail | Bouton | $1,000 | no account filed |
| April 2022 | Flash Flood | Bouton | - | Emergency manager relayed a report from a trained spotter of localized street flooding in Woodward and Bouton with possible power outages. |
| June 2020 | Thunderstorm Wind | Bouton | - | Emergency manager reported large tree branches down throughout Bouton. Time estimated via radar. |
| June 2015 | Hail | Bouton | - | Nickel to quarter size hail reported. |
| August 2014 | Thunderstorm Wind | Bouton | - | Well defined miso-vortex that produced crop damage near Bouton. Damage was found and documented using high resolution satellite imagery. |
| July 2011 | Hail | Bouton | - | Wind gusting 35 to 40 MPH as well. |
| June 2024 | Funnel Cloud | Bouton | - | no account filed |
| June 2010 | Flood | Bouton | - | no account filed |
| June 2008 | Hail | Bouton | - | no account filed |
No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.
Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.
| Photograph | Property | Distance | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|
![]() | Anthony M. McColl House | 3.4 miles | 1987 |
| Beaver Creek Bridge | 3.9 miles | 1998 | |
![]() | Minburn Railroad Depot | 5.6 miles | 2015 |
![]() | Jones Business College | 6.6 miles | 2000 |
![]() | Dowtown Perry Historic District | 6.6 miles | 2000 |
![]() | Saint Patrick's Catholic Church and Rectory | 6.6 miles | 2011 |
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 100007139 in Record Group 79. |
| Dallas County | All 19 listed properties in this county. |