BlockBefore
Photograph of Guttenberg State Bank
Photograph by Boscophotos, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Guttenberg State Bank

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1984.

From the record

“The Guttenberg State Bank, also known as the People's Bank, is a historic building located in Guttenberg, Iowa, United States. The bank was incorporated in May 1900 with John P.”

Wikipedia article Guttenberg State Bank, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 54 National Register listings published here for Clayton County · listed in 1984 · category: Building.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. 15 Goethe St., Guttenberg, 52052
  • When was it listed? September 1984
  • Category. building
  • Also known as. Guttenberg MRA
  • Township. Jefferson township
  • Architectural style. Romanesque Revival architecture
  • National Register reference number. 84001228 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

3 since 2009

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 3 fires within 5 miles of Guttenberg State Bank between 2009 and 2011, burning about 11 acres in total. None started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined3

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
2 April 2011Missing data/not specified/undetermined3.0 acresIowa Department of Natural Resources403 WOODLAND DRIVE, GUTTENBERG, IA
11 April 2009Missing data/not specified/undetermined7.0 acresIowa Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
5 March 2009Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresIowa Department of Natural Resourcesnot named

Every fire recorded in Clayton County

Mines and quarries near this property

10 of 12 shown

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 12 workings within 5 miles of Guttenberg State Bank: 9 past producers, 3 unknowns. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Lead, Stone, Crushed/Broken, Zinc, Sand and Gravel, Construction. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Essman Island PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Holmes MineLead, ZincUnknownGalena
Kann MineLead, ZincUnknownGalena
UnknownSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Anderegg QuarryStone, Crushed/BrokenUnknown
Blum QuarryStone, Crushed/BrokenPast Producer
Morarend QuarryStone, Crushed/BrokenPast Producer
Schlitche QuarryStone, Crushed/BrokenPast Producer
Burtletts DiggingsLeadPast Producer
Guttenberg MinesLeadPast Producer

Every working recorded in Clayton County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Eckert Houseunder 500 feet1984
Albertus Buildingunder 500 feet1979
Guttenberg National Fish Hatchery and Aquarium Historic Districtunder 500 feet1991
McClaine Houseunder 500 feet1984
Moser Stone Houseunder 500 feet1984
Fuerste House0.1 miles1984

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 84001228 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Clayton CountyAll 54 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.