BlockBefore
Photograph of Hammond Covered Bridge
Photograph by JERRYE & ROY KLOTZ MD, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Hammond Bridge

Built in 1894. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1998.

From the record

One of 29 National Register listings published here for Marion County · listed in 1998 · category: Structure · built in 1894.

Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service · the Wikipedia article

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 structure as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. 170th Pl. over North Cedar Cr., Hamilton, 50116
  • When was it listed? May 1998
  • Category. structure
  • Also known as. Highway Bridges of Iowa MPS
  • Township. Indiana township
  • When was it built? 1894
  • National Register reference number. 98000500 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

5 since 2006

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 5 fires within 5 miles of Hammond Bridge between 2006 and 2014, burning about 529 acres in total. None started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined4
Debris and open burning1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
9 April 2014Missing data/not specified/undetermined500 acresIowa Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
9 April 2014Debris and open burning10 acresIowa Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
1 March 2006Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresIowa Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
14 February 2006Missing data/not specified/undetermined4.0 acresIowa Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
23 November 2008Missing data/not specified/undetermined14 acresIowa Department of Natural Resourcesnot named

Every fire recorded in Marion County

Mines and quarries near this property

2 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 2 workings within 5 miles of Hammond Bridge: 2 plants. All of them still produce. What was taken out: Bituminous, Sulfur-Pyrite. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Iowa Fuel & Minls. Coal Prep. PlantBituminous, Sulfur-PyritePlant
Star Coal Co. Coal Prep. PlantBituminous, Sulfur-PyritePlant

Every working recorded in Marion County

Storms near this property

3 since 2008

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Hamilton, the town this property stands in, in 3 storm reports between 2008 and 2014: 1 flash flood, 1 flood, 1 thunderstorm wind. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
June 2008Flash FloodHamilton$50,000Numerous secondary roads were under water from flooded creeks.
April 2013FloodHamilton$25,000Cedar Creek out of its banks covering Highway 5 in the 2300 block.
May 2014Thunderstorm WindHamilton-Marion County Emergency Manager measured a wind gust of 64 MPH. Wind speed was done by handheld instrument.

Every storm recorded in Marion County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

1 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Evan F. Ellis Farmhouse7.1 miles1985

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 98000500 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Marion CountyAll 29 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.