Dayton, Idaho
13 topographic sheets cover this place, the earliest surveyed in 1915 and the latest in 1983. It stands in the Dayton census division. It lies in ZIP code area 83232. The Survey maps it on the Weston quadrangle. 510 people lived here at the 2020 count. It stands 4,823 feet above sea level.
Population over time
2 figuresDayton grew from 463 to 510 between 2010 and 2020. These are the recorded population figures Wikidata holds for this place, reached through the Geographic Names Information System number this page is keyed on rather than by name, so they belong to this place and not to another of the same name. Most are census counts, but not all are: an early figure may be a founding or settlement estimate, and an estimate published within five years of a census is left out. The change column is computed, and is left blank where more than 20 years separate a figure from the one before it, because a gap that long is not a change between two counts.
| Year | People | Change |
|---|---|---|
| 2010 | 463 | |
| 2020 | 510 | +47 (+10%) |
Topographic sheets covering this place
8 surveys from 13 printed sheetsMatched by testing this settlement's coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet in the United States Geological Survey's historical collection. Each opens the scanned sheet at the Survey.
- 1915 USGS Preston quadrangle1:125000
- 1915 USGS Preston quadrangle1:96000
- 1918 USGS Preston quadrangle1:125000, 2 printings
- 1955 USGS Preston quadrangle1:250000, 3 printings
- 1958 USGS Preston quadrangle1:250000, 2 printings
- 1962 USGS Preston quadrangle1:250000
- 1969 USGS Weston quadrangle1:24000, 2 printings
- 1983 USGS Preston quadrangle1:100000
Fires near this place
8 since 1994Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 8 fires within 5 miles of Dayton between 1994 and 2016, burning about 4,229 acres in total. 6 started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Natural | 6 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 5 September 2002 | Natural | 9.0 acres | Idaho Falls District | RATTLESNAK |
| 23 August 2016 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2,413 acres | Caribou-Targhee National Forest | CLIFTON |
| 23 August 2000 | Natural | under an acre | Caribou-Targhee National Forest | WESTON #2 |
| 20 August 2011 | Natural | under an acre | Caribou-Targhee National Forest | STANDING ROCK |
| 17 July 2000 | Natural | 406 acres | Idaho Falls District | DAYTON II |
| 17 July 2000 | Natural | 501 acres | Idaho Falls District | DAYTON |
| 16 July 1994 | Equipment and vehicle use | 900 acres | Idaho Falls District | TWIN LAKES |
| 10 July 2012 | Natural | under an acre | Caribou-Targhee National Forest | CLIFTON |
Settlements close enough to share some of these fires:
Mines and quarries near this place
6 within 5 milesRegional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 6 workings within 5 miles of Dayton: 3 past producers, 3 occurrences. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Geothermal. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Battle Creek Hot Spring | Geothermal | Occurrence | ||
| Gravel Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer | ||
| Gravel Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer | ||
| Gravel Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer | ||
| Vincent Hot Spring | Geothermal | Occurrence | ||
| Wayland Hot Spring | Geothermal | Occurrence |
Storms near this place
1 since 2009Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Dayton in 1 storm report in 2009: 1 flash flood. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| June 2009 | Flash Flood | Dayton | - | Flooding reported near Weston with roads flooded. |
Nearest settlements
The eight closest, with where each one stands in the county. Distances are straight-line, computed from the Geographic Names Information System coordinates.
Elsewhere
Matched on this settlement's Geographic Names Information System number rather than its name, so it cannot be a different place of the same name in another state.
| Wikipedia article on Dayton | An encyclopaedic summary. Its text is share-alike, so it is linked here rather than copied. |
| Wikidata item Q1518104 | The structured record the population and elevation above come from. Public domain (CC0). |
Provenance
This settlement is recorded in the Geographic Names Information System as feature 399846. The sheet list is computed by point-in-boundary test against the United States Geological Survey's historical topographic inventory. Both are works of the United States government and carry no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.







