From the record
One of 17 National Register listings published here for Bingham County · listed in 2020 · category: Building.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2020.
One of 17 National Register listings published here for Bingham County · listed in 2020 · category: Building.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 17 fires within 5 miles of Nels and Emma Just House between 1996 and 2020, burning about 4,280 acres in total. 6 started naturally. 1 was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Natural | 6 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 5 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 1 |
| Other causes | 1 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 1 |
| Fireworks | 1 |
| Misuse of fire by a minor | 1 |
| Debris and open burning | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 7 September 2005 | Other causes | 175 acres | Idaho Falls District | WOLVERINE |
| 7 August 2003 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2,630 acres | Idaho Falls District | FESTIVAL |
| 31 August 1996 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 15 acres | Idaho Falls District | WOLVERINE2 |
| 24 August 2010 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 78 acres | Idaho Falls District | WOLVERINE |
| 23 August 1997 | Natural | under an acre | Idaho Falls District | COVE |
| 14 August 1996 | Debris and open burning | 127 acres | Idaho Falls District | WOLVERINE |
| 10 August 2020 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 77 acres | Bingham County | BINGHAM COUNTY ASSIST 5 |
| 9 July 1997 | Natural | 30 acres | Idaho Falls District | WOLVERINE |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 3 workings within 5 miles of Nels and Emma Just House: 3 past producers. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gravel Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer | ||
| Gravel Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer | ||
| Gravel Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Firth, the town this property stands in, in 3 storm reports between 2000 and 2015: 1 tornado, 1 thunderstorm wind, 1 hail. The reports record 1 injury. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| February 2000 | Tornado (F1) | Firth | 1 hurt, $275,000 | Near Taylorsville a mobile home and garage were destroyed, 3 houses sustained minor roof damage and a cinder block building collapsed. Along the tornado's track, 4 center pivot and 5 wheel irrigation lines were damaged. |
| April 2015 | Hail | Firth | $2,000 | As much as 1 to 4 inches of small hail accumulated on interstate 15 between Firth and Shelley and several slide offs and accidents were reported by area law enforcement. No injuries occurred in the accidents. |
| August 2004 | Thunderstorm Wind | Firth | - | no account filed |
No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.
Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.
| Photograph | Property | Distance | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|
![]() | Lincoln Creek Day School | 7.2 miles | 2010 |
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 100005363 in Record Group 79. |
| Bingham County | All 17 listed properties in this county. |