From the record
One of 44 National Register listings published here for Canyon County · listed in 2024 · category: Building.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2024.
One of 44 National Register listings published here for Canyon County · listed in 2024 · category: Building.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 15 fires within 5 miles of Melba I.O.OF. Lodge Hall between 1995 and 2016, burning about 1,323 acres in total. 2 started naturally. 2 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 3 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 3 |
| Debris and open burning | 3 |
| Fireworks | 2 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 2 |
| Natural | 2 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 5 August 2011 | Arson/incendiarism | 45 acres | Boise District | VOGEL |
| 3 August 2014 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 3.0 acres | Boise District | KAVE |
| 23 August 1995 | Equipment and vehicle use | 60 acres | Boise District | KUNA CAVE |
| 22 August 1995 | Arson/incendiarism | 2.0 acres | Boise District | ROBINSONPT |
| 2 August 1999 | Debris and open burning | 32 acres | Boise District | NICHOLSON |
| 16 August 2005 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 40 acres | Boise District | WALD |
| 9 July 1998 | Natural | 11 acres | Boise District | WARRENSPUR |
| 27 July 2001 | Equipment and vehicle use | 275 acres | Boise District | SPROAT |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 10 workings within 5 miles of Melba I.O.OF. Lodge Hall: 4 prospects, 3 occurrences, 1 past producer, 1 unknown. 1 still produces. What was taken out: Geothermal, Volcanic Materials, Sand and Gravel, Construction, Gold. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Snake River Placers | Gold | Past Producer | Placer | |
| Cinder Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Unknown | ||
| Cinder Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Prospect | ||
| Cinder Deposit | Volcanic Materials | Prospect | ||
| Cinder Deposit | Volcanic Materials | Prospect | ||
| Leland Freiberghaus Cinder Pit | Volcanic Materials | Producer | Surface | |
| Cotner | Geothermal | Prospect | ||
| Geothermal Location | Geothermal | Occurrence | ||
| Geothermal Location | Geothermal | Occurrence | ||
| Geothermal Location | Geothermal | Occurrence |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Melba, the town this property stands in, in 5 storm reports between 1997 and 2022: 2 hail, 2 thunderstorm wind, 1 lightning. The reports record 1 death. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| June 1997 | Lightning | Melba | 1 killed | A farm worker was struck and killed by lightning while working on an irrigation pipe in a farm field during a thunderstorm. |
| June 1999 | Thunderstorm Wind | Melba | $40,000 | no account filed |
| June 2022 | Hail | Melba | - | A member of the public submitted a photo on social media. |
| April 1998 | Hail | Melba | - | no account filed |
| July 1998 | Thunderstorm Wind | Melba | - | no account filed |
No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 100009871 in Record Group 79. |
| Canyon County | All 44 listed properties in this county. |