BlockBefore
Photograph of Iona Meetinghouse
Photograph by UltraSparky, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Iona Meetinghouse

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1973.

From the record

One of 31 National Register listings published here for Bonneville County · listed in 1973 · category: Building.

Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. In Iona, Iona, 83401
  • When was it listed? May 1973
  • Category. building
  • Census division. Idaho Falls
  • National Register reference number. 73000681 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

13 since 1992

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 13 fires within 5 miles of Iona Meetinghouse between 1992 and 2018, burning about 1,119 acres in total. 4 started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Natural4
Missing data/not specified/undetermined4
Equipment and vehicle use3
Debris and open burning1
Power generation/transmission/distribution1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
3 September 2018Missing data/not specified/undetermined2.5 acresIdaho Falls DistrictBONNEVILLE COUNTY ASSIST 2
1 September 2005Equipment and vehicle use93 acresIdaho Falls DistrictPANORAMA
30 August 1994Equipment and vehicle use595 acresIdaho Falls DistrictRIMROCK
29 August 1997Naturalunder an acreIdaho Falls DistrictDENSMORE C
27 August 1996Natural170 acresIdaho Falls DistrictPANORAMA
18 August 2010Power generation/transmission/distribution73 acresIdaho Falls DistrictIONA
11 August 1992Equipment and vehicle use98 acresIdaho Falls DistrictPETERSON
9 July 2013Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresIdaho Falls DistrictPANORAMA

Every fire recorded in Bonneville County

Mines and quarries near this property

10 of 11 shown

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 11 workings within 5 miles of Iona Meetinghouse: 7 producers, 2 past producers, 1 unknown, 1 occurrence. 7 still produce. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Pumice, Clay. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Clay, BrickClayUnknown
Pumice DepositPumiceOccurrencePumice
Pumice Deposit (Snake River Valley)PumicePast ProducerPumice
Pumice, Inc. MinePumicePast ProducerPumice
Gravel PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
Gravel PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
Gravel PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
Gravel Pit, Bonneville CoSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
Gravel Pit, Id Hwy DptSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
Hatch PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer

Every working recorded in Bonneville County

Storms near this property

9 since 2011

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Iona, the town this property stands in, in 9 storm reports between 2011 and 2024: 4 thunderstorm wind, 2 hail, 1 tornado, 1 flood. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
July 2022LightningIona$800,000A 2 story 5,000 square foot residence was struck by lightning causing a large fire. It occurred 2 miles northeast of Iona along E. Panorama Dr. A firefighter was injured in the fire. An estimated 800,000 dollars worth of damage occurred to the home.
April 2014Thunderstorm WindIona$3,000A trailer house on the Bonneville/Jefferson County line in between Rigby and Iona lost it's roof due to thunderstorm winds and 6 to 8 inch tree limbs were downed.
November 2017Tornado (EF0)Iona$200A cold air funnel touched ground between 225 and 235 PM MST on the bench between Idaho Falls and Ririe near highway 26. Several photographs were downloaded onto social media of the tornado. A destroyed metal picnic table was the only reported damage from the tornado.
August 2024Thunderstorm WindIona-A private weather station in Iona measured a 67 mph wind gust from thunderstorm outflow along E Lincoln Rd near Wood River Rd.
July 2022HailIona-One inch hail fell near Thunder Ridge High School. Photograph provided.
July 2021FloodIona-Significant street and yard flooding occurred in Iona. The intersection of E Lincoln Rd and Crook Rd and the intersection of E Tanner Dr and N Aubree Way were flooded with over 1 foot of water in the roads in some areas.
June 2015HailIona-One inch hail recorded 6 miles south of Ririe.
August 2015Thunderstorm WindIona-Photograph of small trees snapped and blown across road in Iona.
June 2011Thunderstorm WindIona-Large oak tree downed in Iona.

Every storm recorded in Bonneville County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
St. John Lutheran Church5.6 miles2024
Holy Rosary Church5.7 miles2002
Eleventh Street Historic District5.8 miles1997
Idaho Falls City Building6.0 miles1984
First Presbyterian Church6.0 miles1978
Ridge Avenue Historic District6.0 miles1993

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 73000681 in Record Group 79.
Bonneville CountyAll 31 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.