From the record
One of 9 National Register listings published here for Franklin County · listed in 1973 · category: Building.
Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1973.
One of 9 National Register listings published here for Franklin County · listed in 1973 · category: Building.
Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 22 fires within 5 miles of L. H. Hatch House between 1998 and 2020, burning about 950 acres in total. 1 started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 6 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 5 |
| Debris and open burning | 4 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 4 |
| Natural | 1 |
| Misuse of fire by a minor | 1 |
| Smoking | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 4 September 2011 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 51 acres | Uinta-Wasatch-Cache National Forest | HIGH CREEK |
| 7 August 2006 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 7.0 acres | Utah Division Forestry Fire State Lands | CAMPBELL |
| 21 August 2013 | Recreation and ceremony | under an acre | Uinta-Wasatch-Cache National Forest | HIGH CREEK |
| 15 August 2003 | Natural | under an acre | Utah Division Forestry Fire State Lands | BATE HOOK CREEK |
| 14 August 1998 | Equipment and vehicle use | under an acre | Uinta-Wasatch-Cache National Forest | HIGH CREEK |
| 31 July 2020 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 381 acres | Franklin County | FRANKLIN COUNTY ASSIST 1 |
| 29 July 2003 | Equipment and vehicle use | 100 acres | Utah Division Forestry Fire State Lands | OXKELLER |
| 29 July 2003 | Equipment and vehicle use | 79 acres | Caribou-Targhee National Forest | OXKILLER |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 6 workings within 5 miles of L. H. Hatch House: 4 producers, 2 past producers. 4 still produce. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| High Creek Pit No 1 | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer | ||
| High Creek Pit No. 1 | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer | Surface | |
| Parson's Ready Mix Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Producer | ||
| Parsons Ready Mix Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Producer | ||
| Utah Dept of Highways No 03008 | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Producer | ||
| Utah Dept. of Highways Pit No. 03008 | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Producer | Surface |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Franklin, the town this property stands in, in 3 storm reports between 2018 and 2025: 2 thunderstorm wind, 1 hail. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| August 2024 | Thunderstorm Wind | Franklin | $6,000 | Several trees and large tree limbs snapped and down in Franklin reported via social media. |
| August 2025 | Thunderstorm Wind | Franklin | - | Mesonet station 8433 D5 Franklin on US-91 recorded a 59 mph thunderstorm outflow wind. |
| August 2018 | Hail | Franklin | - | One inch hail in the town of Franklin. |
No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.
Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.
| Photograph | Property | Distance | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|
![]() | Franklin Co-operative Mercantile Institution | 0.1 miles | 1991 |
![]() | Relic Hall | 0.1 miles | 2001 |
![]() | Franklin City Hall | 0.2 miles | 1991 |
![]() | Oneida Stake Academy | 6.3 miles | 1975 |
![]() | Matthias Cowley House | 6.4 miles | 1976 |
![]() | US Post Office-Preston Main | 6.6 miles | 1989 |
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 73000684 in Record Group 79. |
| Franklin County | All 9 listed properties in this county. |