BlockBefore

H. O. Harkness Stable Building

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1980.

From the record

One of 30 National Register listings published here for Bannock County · listed in 1980 · category: Building.

Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Listed as. Harkness, H. O., Stable Building - the National Register files a house under its owner's surname.
  • Address. 111 S. Railroad St., McCammon, 83250
  • When was it listed? February 1980
  • Category. building
  • Census division. South Bannock
  • National Register reference number. 80001293 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

53 since 1992

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 53 fires within 5 miles of H. O. Harkness Stable Building between 1992 and 2020, burning about 6,429 acres in total. 20 started naturally. 2 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Natural20
Equipment and vehicle use8
Missing data/not specified/undetermined7
Railroad operations and maintenance5
Power generation/transmission/distribution3
Recreation and ceremony3
Debris and open burning3
Arson/incendiarism2
Other causes1
Smoking1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
9 September 2005Power generation/transmission/distribution150 acresIdaho Falls DistrictMULLEN
4 September 2017Missing data/not specified/undetermined5.0 acresIdaho Falls DistrictMCCAMMON
27 September 2019Natural2.0 acresIdaho Falls DistrictCRYSTAL SPRINGS
27 September 1994Railroad operations and maintenance10 acresIdaho Falls DistrictSTEEL BRDG
20 September 2000Natural2.0 acresIdaho Falls DistrictMULLEN
9 August 1992Equipment and vehicle use644 acresIdaho Falls DistrictTWO MILE
8 August 2012Missing data/not specified/undetermined98 acresIdaho Falls DistrictMARSH CREEK
7 August 2005Missing data/not specified/undetermined44 acresIdaho Falls DistrictMCCAMMON

Every fire recorded in Bannock County

Mines and quarries near this property

10 of 13 shown

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 13 workings within 5 miles of H. O. Harkness Stable Building: 13 past producers. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Borrow PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Borrow PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Gravel PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Gravel PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Gravel PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Gravel PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Gravel PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Gravel PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Gravel PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Gravel PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer

Every working recorded in Bannock County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

1 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
McCammon State Bank Building0.2 miles1979

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 80001293 in Record Group 79.
Bannock CountyAll 30 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.