BlockBefore

Cave Lake School

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1985.

From the record

One of 45 National Register listings published here for Kootenai County · listed in 1985 · category: Building.

Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. ID 3, Medimont, 83861
  • When was it listed? September 1985
  • Category. building
  • Also known as. Kootenai County Rural Schools TR
  • Census division. Worley
  • National Register reference number. 85002092 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

55 since 1992

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 55 fires within 5 miles of Cave Lake School between 1992 and 2019, burning about 286 acres in total. 16 started naturally. 1 was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Natural16
Debris and open burning13
Missing data/not specified/undetermined13
Equipment and vehicle use5
Recreation and ceremony4
Railroad operations and maintenance2
Misuse of fire by a minor1
Arson/incendiarism1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
9 September 2012Naturalunder an acreNorthern Idaho AgencyCASSANDRA HILLS
14 September 1993Equipment and vehicle useunder an acreIdaho Panhandle National Forestnot named
12 September 2008Missing data/not specified/undetermined2.0 acresIdaho Department of LandsROBINSON CREEK
12 September 1996Naturalunder an acreIdaho Department of LandsHARRISON WYE
12 September 1996Naturalunder an acreNorthern Idaho AgencyROSEWOOD
12 September 1996Naturalunder an acreIdaho Department of LandsBLACK LAKE
6 August 1994Debris and open burningunder an acreIdaho Department of LandsWELCOME HOME
6 August 1994Debris and open burningunder an acreIdaho Department of LandsBLACK LAKE RESORT

Every fire recorded in Kootenai County

Mines and quarries near this property

9 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 9 workings within 5 miles of Cave Lake School: 4 unknowns, 3 prospects, 1 occurrence, 1 producer. 1 still produces. What was taken out: Lead, Sand and Gravel, Construction, Stone, Crushed/Broken, Iron. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Butte Mining Company ProspectLead, ZincProspectGalena, Sphalerite
Engle Mtn.Silver, Lead, Gold, CopperUnknown
Green Back Claim GroupZinc, Silver, LeadProspect
Greenback ProspectIronOccurrence
Jumbo Claim GroupLead, Zinc, SilverUnknown
Rainbow No. 3 ProspectLead, Silver, Copper, ZincProspect1907, 1930
Stone QuarryStone, Crushed/BrokenUnknown
Gravel PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionUnknown
Gravel PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer

Every working recorded in Kootenai County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

3 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Indian Springs School IIunder 500 feet1985
Mullan Road5.8 miles1990
Lane School II6.8 miles1985

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 85002092 in Record Group 79.
Kootenai CountyAll 45 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.