BlockBefore
Photograph of Upper Twin Lakes School
Photograph by Jon Roanhaus, CC BY-SA 4.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Upper Twin Lakes School

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1985.

From the record

One of 45 National Register listings published here for Kootenai County · listed in 1985 · category: Building.

Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. Twin Lakes Rd., Silver Sands Beach, 83858
  • When was it listed? September 1985
  • Category. building
  • Also known as. Kootenai County Rural Schools TR
  • Census division. Spirit Lake-Athol
  • Architectural style. Colonial Revival architecture
  • National Register reference number. 85002102 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

136 since 1992

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 136 fires within 5 miles of Upper Twin Lakes School between 1992 and 2020, burning about 207 acres in total. 43 started naturally. 6 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Natural43
Missing data/not specified/undetermined25
Debris and open burning23
Recreation and ceremony21
Misuse of fire by a minor7
Arson/incendiarism6
Smoking5
Equipment and vehicle use4
Railroad operations and maintenance1
Fireworks1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
9 September 2000Recreation and ceremonyunder an acreIdaho Department of LandsN. EDWARDS PILE
5 September 2009Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreIdaho Department of LandsTURBO TRUCK
5 September 1993Recreation and ceremonyunder an acreIdaho Department of LandsSPIRIT CAVES
4 September 2001Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreIdaho Department of LandsSCARCELLO
4 September 1995Naturalunder an acreIdaho Department of LandsWATERSHED
3 September 2017Arson/incendiarism2.0 acresIdaho Department of LandsALTAMONT ROAD
3 September 1994Naturalunder an acreIdaho Department of LandsLOWER BRICKLE FIRE
3 September 1994Naturalunder an acreIdaho Department of LandsUPPER BRICKLE FIRE

Every fire recorded in Kootenai County

Mines and quarries near this property

5 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 5 workings within 5 miles of Upper Twin Lakes School: 3 producers, 1 past producer, 1 unknown. 3 still produce. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Gravel PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Gravel PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
Gravel PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
Gravel PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionUnknown
Gravel PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer

Every working recorded in Kootenai County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

4 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Spirit Lake Historic District5.3 miles1979
Rathdrum State Bank5.8 miles1974
Kootenai County Jail5.8 miles2001
St. Stanislaus Kostka Mission5.9 miles1977

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 85002102 in Record Group 79.
Kootenai CountyAll 45 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.