BlockBefore
Photograph of Georgetown Relief Society Hall
Photograph by 25or6to4, CC BY-SA 4.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Georgetown Relief Society Hall

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1998.

From the record

“The Georgetown Relief Society Hall in Georgetown, Idaho was built in 1872. It was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1998.”

Wikipedia article Georgetown Relief Society Hall, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 92 National Register listings published here for Bear Lake County · listed in 1998 · category: Building.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. 161 3rd NW St., Georgetown, 83239
  • When was it listed? September 1998
  • Category. building
  • Census division. Georgetown
  • National Register reference number. 98001171 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

5 since 1992

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 5 fires within 5 miles of Georgetown Relief Society Hall between 1992 and 2020, burning about 49 acres in total. 4 started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Natural4
Missing data/not specified/undetermined1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
27 August 2020Natural38 acresBear Lake CountyGEORGETOWN
1 August 2019Natural10 acresCaribou-Targhee National ForestNORTH HILL
28 July 1992Naturalunder an acreCaribou-Targhee National Forestnot named
2 July 2000Naturalunder an acreCaribou-Targhee National ForestBIG CANYON
7 June 1994Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreCaribou-Targhee National Forestnot named

Every fire recorded in Bear Lake County

Mines and quarries near this property

7 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 7 workings within 5 miles of Georgetown Relief Society Hall: 3 occurrences, 2 unknowns, 1 prospect, 1 past producer. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Phosphorus-Phosphates, Copper, Limestone, General. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Georgetown Area LimestoneLimestone, GeneralUnknown
Nounan GroupCopperOccurrenceReplacement
Unnamed LocationCopperProspect
Bear River AreaPhosphorus-PhosphatesUnknown
Merriman Potash CompanyPhosphorus-PhosphatesPast Producer
Phosphate DepositPhosphorus-PhosphatesOccurrence
Phosphate DepositPhosphorus-PhosphatesOccurrence

Every working recorded in Bear Lake County

Storms near this property

2 since 2007

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Georgetown, the town this property stands in, in 2 storm reports between 2007 and 2010: 2 thunderstorm wind. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
June 2010Thunderstorm WindGeorgetown-A spotter reported a 60 mph wind gust near Georgetown.
September 2007Thunderstorm WindGeorgetown-Spotter reported a measured wind gust of 68 mph from a thunderstorm in Georgetown.

Every storm recorded in Bear Lake County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 98001171 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Bear Lake CountyAll 92 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.