From the record
One of 19 National Register listings published here for Jersey County · listed in 1982 · category: District.
Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1982.
One of 19 National Register listings published here for Jersey County · listed in 1982 · category: District.
Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 4 fires within 5 miles of New Piasa Chautauqua Historic District between 2010 and 2011, burning about 37 acres in total. None started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Debris and open burning | 2 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 6 April 2011 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 35 acres | Illinois Division of Forestry Resources | 11406001 |
| 2 April 2011 | Debris and open burning | under an acre | Illinois Division of Forestry Resources | 11402002 |
| 2 April 2011 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Illinois Division of Forestry Resources | 11402004 |
| 5 March 2010 | Debris and open burning | 1.0 acres | Illinois Division of Forestry Resources | 10305001 |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 5 workings within 5 miles of New Piasa Chautauqua Historic District: 5 past producers. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Stone, Crushed/Broken, Sand and Gravel, Construction. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Twin Rivers Sand Pit No. 2 | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer | ||
| Columbia Quarry Company | Stone, Crushed/Broken | Past Producer | ||
| Grafton Quarry | Stone, Crushed/Broken | Past Producer | ||
| Unnamed Limestone Quarry | Stone, Crushed/Broken | Past Producer | ||
| Western Whiting Company Quarry | Stone, Crushed/Broken | Past Producer |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Chautauqua, the town this property stands in, in 1 storm report in 2018: 1 tornado. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| June 2018 | Tornado (EF0) | Chautauqua | - | A NWS Damage Survey Team surveyed multiple areas across southern Jersey County. The survey team did find one area of concentrated damage just northwest of Elsah which it determined was caused by a brief EF-0 tornado. The tornado touched down about one quarter mile SSW of the Green Acres Road and Elsah Road intersection here 3 pine trees were blown over. The tornado then removed part of the roof from an out building on the west side of Elsah Road. Portions of the roof were found blown across Elsah Road to the southeast. The tornado then crossed Lake Drive just west of Red Bud Court where it twisted a road sign 180 degrees and snapped a number of trees near their base. The tornado continued southeast crossing Elsah Road near Joywood Drive where several trees were again snapped. The tornado dissipated shortly thereafter. The tornado was rated EF0 with max wind speeds of 80 MPH. The path length was 1.40 miles and a max path width of 50 yards. No injuries or deaths were reported with this tornado. |
No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.
Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.
| Photograph | Property | Distance | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|
![]() | Elsah Historic District | 1.5 miles | 1973 |
![]() | Principia College Historic District | 2.2 miles | 1993 |
![]() | Charles Brainerd House | 2.4 miles | 1998 |
| Grafton Boat Works | 2.4 miles | 2022 | |
![]() | John and Amelia McClintock House | 2.4 miles | 1994 |
![]() | Grafton Bank | 2.5 miles | 1994 |
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 82002541 in Record Group 79. |
| Jersey County | All 19 listed properties in this county. |