BlockBefore
Photograph of Dayton Historic District
Photograph by Huw Williams ( Huwmanbeing ), Public domain. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Dayton Historic District

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2003.

From the record

“Dayton Historic District is a national historic district located at Dayton, Indiana. The district encompasses 82 contributing buildings and one contributing site in the central business district and surrounding residential sections of Dayton.”

Wikipedia article Dayton Historic District (Dayton, Indiana), CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 48 National Register listings published here for Tippecanoe County · listed in 2003 · category: District.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service · the Wikipedia article

The listing

Fires near this property

19 since 2002

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 19 fires within 5 miles of Dayton Historic District between 2002 and 2005, burning about 28 acres in total. 1 started naturally. 3 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined7
Recreation and ceremony6
Arson/incendiarism3
Debris and open burning1
Natural1
Smoking1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
8 September 2005Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreIndiana State Fire Marshal's Officenot named
27 September 2004Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreIndiana State Fire Marshal's Officenot named
20 September 2004Natural1.0 acresIndiana State Fire Marshal's Officenot named
2 July 2004Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreIndiana State Fire Marshal's Officenot named
28 May 2005Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreIndiana State Fire Marshal's Officenot named
28 May 2005Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreIndiana State Fire Marshal's Officenot named
6 April 2004Debris and open burning2.0 acresIndiana State Fire Marshal's Officenot named
5 April 2005Recreation and ceremony1.0 acresIndiana State Fire Marshal's Officenot named

Every fire recorded in Tippecanoe County

Storms near this property

13 since 2001

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Dayton, the town this property stands in, in 13 storm reports between 2001 and 2021: 8 thunderstorm wind, 3 tornado, 2 hail. The reports record 1 injury. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
March 2009Thunderstorm WindDayton1 hurt, $12,000A semi-trailer was blown off Interstate 65 by thunderstorm winds. The driver was traveling north on I-65 about 10 miles north of Frankfort when the wind forced his empty vehicle off the road, tearing the roof open. The driver sustained minor injuries.
May 2004Tornado (F2)Dayton$1,000,000A tornado touched down near Dayton. The tornado caused significant tree damage and blew parts of roofs off two buildings in Dayton. The tornado continued moving northeast with sporadic damage until reaching large homes approximately 1.5 miles northeast of Dayton. Two homes were nearly destroyed on Halifax Lane. Wind speeds were estimated around 150 mph.
April 2001Thunderstorm WindDayton$150,000no account filed
July 2005Tornado (F0)Dayton$10,000An F0 tornado touched down briefly just east of the intersection of Interstate 65 and State Road 38 in Dayton. Most of the damage was confined to trees, although a construction trailer was flipped and a shed on a trailer was pushed across the road. Other damage to homes was confined to occasional broken windows.
August 2012Thunderstorm WindDayton$9,000Trees and tree limbs were downed due to damaging thunderstorm wind gusts. One tree was on a garage.
November 2017Tornado (EF0)Dayton$8,000This EF0 tornado touched down briefly northeast of Dayton and damaged a house and several trees. A few strips of siding was removed from the house and a few trees were downed as well.
October 2021Thunderstorm WindDayton$5,000Numerous trees blown down by thunderstorm wind gusts across the town.
November 2017Thunderstorm WindDayton$3,000Trees were reported down near the intersection of County Roads 900 East and 200 South due to damaging thunderstorm wind gusts.
July 2020Thunderstorm WindDayton$2,000Multiple trees downed due to thunderstorm wind gusts with power outages noted.
November 2013Thunderstorm WindDayton-A measured 82 mph thunderstorm wind gust was observed in this location. No damage was reported.
June 2011Thunderstorm WindDayton-A 60 mph thunderstorm wind gust was measured on State Route 38 near the Clinton county border.
August 2011HailDayton-no account filed
April 2002HailDayton-no account filed

Every storm recorded in Tippecanoe County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Hershey House4.7 miles1978
Ely, Homestead5.9 miles1976
Scott Street Pavilion6.1 miles1984
Waldron-Beck House and Carriage House6.5 miles1984
St. Mary Historic District6.6 miles2001
Highland Park Neighborhood Historic District6.7 miles1996

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 03000142 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Tippecanoe CountyAll 48 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.