BlockBefore
Photograph of Kingsbury-Doak Farmhouse
Photograph by Nyttend, Public domain. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Kingsbury-Doak Farmhouse

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2005.

From the record

“Kingsbury-Doak Farmhouse, also known as the Steele Farmhouse, is a historic home located in Eagle Creek Township, Lake County, Indiana. The older section was built in the 1860s, and is a simple frame structure that now forms the rear wing.”

Wikipedia article Kingsbury-Doak Farmhouse, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 88 National Register listings published here for Lake County · listed in 2005 · category: Building.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Listed as. Kingsbury--Doak Farmhouse - the National Register files a house under its owner's surname.
  • Address. 4411 E 153rd Ave., Hebron, 46341
  • When was it listed? September 2005
  • Category. building
  • Township. Eagle Creek township
  • National Register reference number. 05001013 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

The ground it stands on

2,951 words

This property stands in Eagle Creek Township. Lake County, Indiana, 1884 : an Account of the Semi-centennial Celebration of Lake County, September 3 and 4, with Historical Papers and Other Interesting Records, Prepared for This Volume, published 1884; A Standard History of Lake County, Indiana, and the Calumet Region, published 1915 gives that township a chapter of its own.

The chapter covers the township.

Machine-read from a century-old scan, so expect the errors a machine makes: misspelled names, dropped words, stray characters.

Read the whole chapter on Eagle Creek Township - 2,951 words on its settlement, mills, schools and churches.

Fires near this property

6 since 2004

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 6 fires within 5 miles of Kingsbury-Doak Farmhouse between 2004 and 2005, burning about 12 acres in total. None started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined4
Recreation and ceremony2

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
29 June 2004Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreIndiana State Fire Marshal's Officenot named
8 May 2005Recreation and ceremonyunder an acreIndiana State Fire Marshal's Officenot named
20 May 2005Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreIndiana State Fire Marshal's Officenot named
16 April 2004Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresIndiana State Fire Marshal's Officenot named
11 April 2005Recreation and ceremony8.0 acresIndiana State Fire Marshal's Officenot named
29 March 2005Missing data/not specified/undetermined3.0 acresIndiana State Fire Marshal's Officenot named

Every fire recorded in Lake County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
John Ross Farm2.2 miles1996
Buckley Homestead6.2 miles1984
William Whitaker Landscape and House6.4 miles1999
Albert Maack House6.4 miles2011
Crawford-Winslow House6.7 miles2013
Lake County Sheriff's House and Jail6.7 miles1989

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 05001013 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Lake CountyAll 88 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.