BlockBefore
Photograph of University of Notre Dame: Main and South Quadrangles
Photograph by Michael Fernandes, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

University of Notre Dame: Main and South Quadrangles

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1978.

From the record

One of 101 National Register listings published here for St. Joseph County · listed in 1978 · category: District.

Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • Address. Off I-80/90, Notre Dame, 46556
  • When was it listed? May 1978
  • Category. district
  • Township. Portage township
  • National Register reference number. 78000053 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

The ground it stands on

17,994 words

This property stands in Portage Township. History of St. Joseph County, Indiana :, published 1880 gives that township a chapter of its own.

The chapter covers the township.

Machine-read from a century-old scan, so expect the errors a machine makes: misspelled names, dropped words, stray characters.

Read the whole chapter on Portage Township - 17,994 words on its settlement, mills, schools and churches.

Fires near this property

2 since 2018

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 2 fires within 5 miles of University of Notre Dame: Main and South Quadrangles between 2018 and 2019, burning about 2 acres in total. None started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined1
Equipment and vehicle use1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
27 March 2019Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesNILES TOWNSHIP FD 2019095 - 2019
25 March 2018Equipment and vehicle use1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesNILES TOWNSHIP FD 2018090 - 2018

Mines and quarries near this property

5 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 5 workings within 5 miles of University of Notre Dame: Main and South Quadrangles: 4 producers, 1 plant. All of them still produce. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Stone. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
South Bend S & G Corp.StoneProducer
South Bend Sand & Gravel MillSand and Gravel, ConstructionPlant
South Bend Sand and Gravel PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
St. Joseph Co. Hwy. Dept.Sand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
Steenburg PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer

Every working recorded in St. Joseph County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Maurice Egan House0.8 miles1999
Samuel Leeper Jr. House1.1 miles1985
Fire House No. 71.1 miles1999
Leeper Park1.2 miles2000
Lowell Heights-Olivet African Methodist Episcopal Church1.2 miles2023
North Pumping Station1.2 miles1997

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 78000053 in Record Group 79.
St. Joseph CountyAll 101 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.