BlockBefore

Polk, Kansas

24 topographic sheets cover this place, the earliest surveyed in 1884 and the latest in 1991. It stands in Washington Township. It lies in ZIP code area 66712. The Survey maps it on the Arma quadrangle.

Polk within Crawford County

Topographic sheets covering this place

14 surveys from 24 printed sheets

Matched by testing this settlement's coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet in the United States Geological Survey's historical collection. Each opens the scanned sheet at the Survey.

Fires near this place

64 since 2015

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 64 fires within 5 miles of Polk between 2015 and 2020, burning about 398 acres in total. None started naturally. 1 was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Debris and open burning41
Missing data/not specified/undetermined17
Equipment and vehicle use2
Fireworks1
Arson/incendiarism1
Misuse of fire by a minor1
Smoking1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
6 July 2018Fireworksunder an acreKansas Forest Service018-081
4 May 2018Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreKansas Forest Service018-058
12 May 2018Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreKansas Forest Service018-017
10 April 2018Debris and open burningunder an acreKansas Forest Service018-049
7 March 2017Debris and open burningunder an acreCrawford County017-053
7 March 2015Debris and open burningunder an acreKansas Forest Service015-027
6 March 2016Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreKansas Forest Service016-006
5 March 2016Debris and open burningunder an acreKansas Forest Service016-046

Settlements close enough to share some of these fires:

Every fire recorded in Crawford County

Storms near this place

4 since 2008

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Polk in 4 storm reports between 2008 and 2019: 3 thunderstorm wind, 1 hail. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
April 2019Thunderstorm WindPolk$3,500A garage door and siding damage was reported to a home off of 200th Road.
September 2012Thunderstorm WindPolk-A 70 mph wind gust was reported at Highway 13 and Highway 32.
September 2012Thunderstorm WindPolk-A 70 mph wind gust was measured at Highway 13 and Highway 32.
May 2008HailPolk-no account filed

Every storm recorded in Crawford County

Nearest settlements

The eight closest, with where each one stands in the county. Distances are straight-line, computed from the Geographic Names Information System coordinates.

Map PlaceDistance Sheets
Edison2.0 miles24
Arma2.2 miles24
Franklin2.2 miles24
Ringo2.6 miles22
Englevale3.6 miles24
Dunkirk4.1 miles24
Croweburg4.1 miles24
Radley4.2 miles21

Provenance

This settlement is recorded in the Geographic Names Information System as feature 480392. The sheet list is computed by point-in-boundary test against the United States Geological Survey's historical topographic inventory. Both are works of the United States government and carry no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.

Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.

Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.