BlockBefore

Thornton Adobe Barn

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2003.

From the record

“The Thornton Adobe Barn near Isabel, Kansas was built in 1942. It is a Gambrel roofed adobe dairy barn.”

Wikipedia article Thornton Adobe Barn, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 9 National Register listings published here for Pratt County · listed in 2003 · category: Building.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. 1 mi. E and 1.25 mi N of Isabel, Isabel, 67065
  • When was it listed? December 2003
  • Category. building
  • Township. Township 11
  • National Register reference number. 03001258 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Fires near this property

2 since 2020

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 2 fires within 5 miles of Thornton Adobe Barn in 2020, burning about 4 acres in total. None started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined2

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
22 September 2020Missing data/not specified/undetermined2.0 acresKansas Forest Servicenot named
24 June 2020Missing data/not specified/undetermined2.0 acresKansas Forest Servicenot named

Every fire recorded in Pratt County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 03001258 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Pratt CountyAll 9 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.