BlockBefore
Photograph of Morton Albaugh House
Photograph by 25or6to4, CC BY-SA 4.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Morton Albaugh House

Built in 1910 (Prairie School architecture). Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2004.

From the record

One of 108 National Register listings published here for Shawnee County · listed in 2004 · category: Building · built in 1910, Prairie School architecture.

Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Listed as. Albaugh, Morton, House - the National Register files a house under its owner's surname.
  • Address. 1331 SW Harrison St., Todeka, 66612
  • When was it listed? April 2004
  • Category. building
  • City. Topeka city
  • When was it built? 1910
  • Architectural style. Prairie School architecture, American Craftsman
  • National Register reference number. 04000366 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Fires near this property

537 since 2006

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 537 fires within 5 miles of Morton Albaugh House between 2006 and 2020, burning about 206 acres in total. None started naturally. 118 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined255
Arson/incendiarism118
Debris and open burning99
Smoking26
Equipment and vehicle use18
Fireworks5
Misuse of fire by a minor5
Power generation/transmission/distribution4
Other causes4
Recreation and ceremony3

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
8 September 2017Arson/incendiarismunder an acreShawnee County15240
3 September 2018Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresKansas Forest Service16182
29 September 2017Debris and open burning1.0 acresShawnee County127
29 September 2015Arson/incendiarismunder an acreKansas Forest Service15109
26 September 2015Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreKansas Forest Service14941
22 September 2018Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreKansas Forest Service17446
22 September 2015Arson/incendiarismunder an acreKansas Forest Service14677
20 September 2015Arson/incendiarismunder an acreKansas Forest Service14591

Every fire recorded in Shawnee County

Mines and quarries near this property

1 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 1 working within 5 miles of Morton Albaugh House: 1 producer. All of them still produce. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Kansas Sand and Concrete DredgeSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer

Every working recorded in Shawnee County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Morgan Houseunder 500 feet2004
William T. and Delora Crosby House0.3 miles2011
Charles Curtis House0.3 miles1973
Bowker House0.3 miles2007
Chester B. Woodward House0.4 miles1992
Brown v. Board of Education National Historic Site0.4 miles1992

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 04000366 in Record Group 79.
Shawnee CountyAll 108 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.