BlockBefore
Photograph of Cato District No. 4 School
Photograph by SeaLawyer1988, CC0 1.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Cato District No. 4 School

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2006.

From the record

One of 23 National Register listings published here for Crawford County · listed in 2006 · category: Building.

Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 2 buildingss as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. Jct. of 200th St. and 720th Ave., Cato, 66711
  • When was it listed? September 2006
  • Category. building
  • Also known as. Public Schools of Kansas MPS
  • Township. Lincoln township
  • National Register reference number. 06000771 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Fires near this property

18 since 2015

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 18 fires within 5 miles of Cato District No. 4 School between 2015 and 2020, burning about 1,253 acres in total. None started naturally. 1 was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Debris and open burning7
Missing data/not specified/undetermined6
Equipment and vehicle use2
Smoking2
Arson/incendiarism1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
22 July 2020Missing data/not specified/undetermined80 acresKansas Forest Servicenot named
8 March 2018Debris and open burning130 acresKansas Forest Service63
30 March 2015Smoking2.0 acresKansas Forest Service144
23 March 2015Missing data/not specified/undetermined160 acresKansas Forest Service015-037
22 March 2015Missing data/not specified/undetermined60 acresKansas Forest Service022215A
16 March 2016Debris and open burning600 acresKansas Forest Service016-061
14 March 2018Equipment and vehicle useunder an acreKansas Forest Service018-037
11 March 2015Debris and open burning160 acresKansas Forest Service31115

Every fire recorded in Crawford County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 06000771 in Record Group 79.
Crawford CountyAll 23 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.