From the record
One of 23 National Register listings published here for Crawford County · listed in 2007 · category: Structure.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2007.
One of 23 National Register listings published here for Crawford County · listed in 2007 · category: Structure.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 104 fires within 5 miles of Franklin Sidewalk between 2015 and 2020, burning about 562 acres in total. None started naturally. 5 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Debris and open burning | 56 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 37 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 5 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 3 |
| Fireworks | 2 |
| Misuse of fire by a minor | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 13 September 2015 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Kansas Forest Service | 76 |
| 6 July 2018 | Fireworks | under an acre | Kansas Forest Service | 018-081 |
| 20 July 2017 | Arson/incendiarism | under an acre | Crawford County | 82 |
| 10 July 2020 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 10 acres | Kansas Forest Service | not named |
| 28 June 2017 | Fireworks | under an acre | Crawford County | 017-085 |
| 4 May 2018 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Kansas Forest Service | 018-058 |
| 26 May 2018 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Kansas Forest Service | 018-056 |
| 12 May 2018 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Kansas Forest Service | 018-017 |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Franklin, the town this property stands in, in 2 storm reports between 2007 and 2013: 2 flash flood. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.
Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.
| Photograph | Property | Distance | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|
![]() | S-W Supply Company | 7.6 miles | 2009 |
![]() | Julius A. Wayland House | 7.6 miles | 1976 |
![]() | First Presbyterian Church | 7.7 miles | 2009 |
![]() | Leonard, J.T and Anna, House | 7.7 miles | 2017 |
![]() | State Bank of Girard | 7.7 miles | 2009 |
![]() | Crawford County Courthouse | 7.7 miles | 2009 |
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 07000143 in Record Group 79. |
| Crawford County | All 23 listed properties in this county. |