BlockBefore
Photograph of Eliason Barn
Photograph by SharonPapierdreams, CC BY-SA 4.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Eliason Barn

Built in 1917. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2009.

From the record

One of 48 National Register listings published here for Dickinson County · listed in 2009 · category: Building · built in 1917.

Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. 147 KS 4, Gypsum, 67448
  • When was it listed? April 2009
  • Category. building
  • Township. Holland township
  • When was it built? 1917
  • National Register reference number. 09000189 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Fires near this property

3 since 2017

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 3 fires within 5 miles of Eliason Barn between 2017 and 2020, burning about 143 acres in total. None started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined2
Debris and open burning1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
11 September 2017Debris and open burning80 acresSaline County2017002
9 April 2020Missing data/not specified/undetermined60 acresKansas Forest Servicenot named
29 April 2018Missing data/not specified/undetermined3.0 acresKansas Forest Service8

Every fire recorded in Dickinson County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 09000189 in Record Group 79.
Dickinson CountyAll 48 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.