From the record
One of 14 National Register listings published here for Bourbon County · listed in 2009 · category: District.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2009.
One of 14 National Register listings published here for Bourbon County · listed in 2009 · category: District.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 79 fires within 5 miles of Fort Scott Downtown Historic District between 1992 and 2020, burning about 652 acres in total. None started naturally. 2 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 45 |
| Debris and open burning | 13 |
| Smoking | 9 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 4 |
| Fireworks | 2 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 2 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 2 |
| Other causes | 1 |
| Power generation/transmission/distribution | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 26 September 2015 | Debris and open burning | under an acre | Kansas Forest Service | 1054 |
| 24 September 1992 | Equipment and vehicle use | under an acre | Fort Scott National Historic Site | PRAIRIE |
| 10 September 2015 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Kansas Forest Service | 1000 |
| 2 August 2018 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Kansas Forest Service | 189 |
| 5 July 2015 | Fireworks | under an acre | Kansas Forest Service | 754 |
| 4 July 2018 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Kansas Forest Service | 161 |
| 24 July 2020 | Recreation and ceremony | 10 acres | Kansas Forest Service | not named |
| 2 July 2020 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1.0 acres | Kansas Forest Service | not named |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 2 workings within 5 miles of Fort Scott Downtown Historic District: 1 plant, 1 producer. All of them still produce. What was taken out: Clay, Stone, Crushed/Broken. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cullor Mine & Mill | Stone, Crushed/Broken | Producer | ||
| Ft. Scott Pottery Co. | Clay | Plant |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Fort Scott, the town this property stands in, in 6 storm reports between 1994 and 1995: 4 thunderstorm wind, 2 hail. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| June 1994 | Thunderstorm Wind | Fort Scott | $500 | Trees were blown down. |
| June 1994 | Thunderstorm Wind | Fort Scott | $500 | no account filed |
| May 1995 | Thunderstorm Wind | Fort Scott | - | Windows blown out in the city of Fort Scott. Large trees and power lines downed. |
| May 1995 | Thunderstorm Wind | Fort Scott | - | no account filed |
| May 1995 | Hail | Fort Scott | - | no account filed |
| July 1995 | Hail | Fort Scott | - | no account filed |
No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.
Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.
| Photograph | Property | Distance | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|
![]() | Fort Scott Public Carnegie Library | under 500 feet | 1987 |
![]() | Union Block | under 500 feet | 1972 |
![]() | Moody Building | under 500 feet | 1977 |
![]() | Fort Scott National Historic Site | 0.2 miles | 1966 |
| Claude and Alberta Brant House | 0.3 miles | 2022 | |
| Thomas L. and Anna B. Herbert House | 0.3 miles | 2021 |
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 09001091 in Record Group 79. |
| Bourbon County | All 14 listed properties in this county. |