From the record
One of 15 National Register listings published here for Cherokee County · listed in 2017 · category: District.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2017.
One of 15 National Register listings published here for Cherokee County · listed in 2017 · category: District.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 117 fires within 5 miles of Kansas Route 66 Historic District-North Baxter Springs between 1998 and 2020, burning about 679 acres in total. 9 started naturally. 4 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Debris and open burning | 53 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 41 |
| Natural | 9 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 4 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 4 |
| Fireworks | 2 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 2 |
| Smoking | 1 |
| Power generation/transmission/distribution | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 29 September 2015 | Debris and open burning | 2.0 acres | Kansas Forest Service | 177 |
| 13 September 2017 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1.0 acres | Cherokee County | 166 |
| 8 August 2020 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1.0 acres | Kansas Forest Service | not named |
| 2 August 2015 | Debris and open burning | 1.0 acres | Kansas Forest Service | 147 |
| 13 August 2015 | Debris and open burning | 2.0 acres | Kansas Forest Service | 151 |
| 7 July 2012 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Miami Agency | CLEET |
| 4 July 2018 | Fireworks | 1.0 acres | Kansas Forest Service | 166 |
| 22 July 1998 | Debris and open burning | under an acre | Miami Agency | HOCKERVILL |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 38 workings within 5 miles of Kansas Route 66 Historic District-North Baxter Springs: 36 past producers, 2 producers. 2 still produce. What was taken out: Zinc, Lead, Lead, Zinc, Sand and Gravel, Construction, Zinc. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bingham Sand & Gravel Gravel Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Producer | ||
| James Orr Chubb Land | Zinc | Past Producer | 1935 | |
| Miami Ready Mix Gravel Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Producer | ||
| Wade Mine | Zinc | Past Producer | 1920, 1926 | |
| Aztec | Zinc, Lead | Past Producer | 1918, 1921 | |
| Baxter Springs | Lead, Zinc | Past Producer | ||
| Blue Bonnett Mine | Zinc, Lead | Past Producer | 1918, 1921 | |
| Blue Mound Mine | Lead, Zinc | Past Producer | 1918, 1920 | |
| Blue Ribbon and Lucky Jenny Mine | Lead, Zinc | Past Producer | 1917, 1919 | |
| Brugger Tract | Lead, Zinc | Past Producer | 1935 |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Baxter Springs, the town this property stands in, in 3 storm reports between 1994 and 1997: 2 flash flood, 1 thunderstorm wind. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| June 1994 | Thunderstorm Wind | Baxter Springs | $500 | Tree limbs were blown down in the Baxter Springs and Galena areas. |
| May 1997 | Flash Flood | Baxter Springs | - | no account filed |
| November 1996 | Flash Flood | Baxter Springs | - | no account filed |
No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.
Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.
| Photograph | Property | Distance | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kansas Route 66 Historic District-North Baxter Springs | under 500 feet | 2015 | |
![]() | Johnston Library | 1.0 miles | 1976 |
![]() | Baxter Springs Independent Oil and Gas Service Station | 1.1 miles | 2003 |
![]() | Rial A. Niles House | 1.3 miles | 2006 |
| Baxter Springs High School | 1.5 miles | 2014 | |
| Kansas Route 66 Historic District-North Baxter Springs | 2.1 miles | 2015 |
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 100000495 in Record Group 79. |
| Cherokee County | All 15 listed properties in this county. |