From the record
One of 24 National Register listings published here for Harvey County · listed in 2010 · category: Building.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2010.
One of 24 National Register listings published here for Harvey County · listed in 2010 · category: Building.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 92 fires within 5 miles of J.J. Krehbiel and Company Carriage Factory between 2015 and 2020, burning about 184 acres in total. 1 started naturally. 10 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 31 |
| Debris and open burning | 29 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 10 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 10 |
| Power generation/transmission/distribution | 4 |
| Smoking | 3 |
| Fireworks | 3 |
| Natural | 1 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 20 September 2015 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1.0 acres | Kansas Forest Service | 1502539 |
| 30 August 2017 | Arson/incendiarism | under an acre | Harvey County | 1702409 |
| 28 August 2017 | Debris and open burning | under an acre | Harvey County | 1702393 |
| 6 July 2017 | Equipment and vehicle use | 10 acres | Harvey County | 1701879 |
| 5 July 2018 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Kansas Forest Service | 1916 |
| 5 July 2018 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Kansas Forest Service | 1921 |
| 4 July 2018 | Fireworks | under an acre | Kansas Forest Service | 1910 |
| 4 July 2015 | Arson/incendiarism | 1.0 acres | Kansas Forest Service | 1501774 |
No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.
Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.
| Photograph | Property | Distance | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|
![]() | Santa Fe Depot | under 500 feet | 1985 |
| Old Railroad Savings and Loan Building | 0.1 miles | 1982 | |
![]() | Newton Main Street Historic District II | 0.1 miles | 2003 |
| Newton Main Street Historic District I | 0.2 miles | 2003 | |
| Samuel A. Brown House | 0.2 miles | 1988 | |
| Jairus Neal House | 0.3 miles | 1982 |
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 10000427 in Record Group 79. |
| Harvey County | All 24 listed properties in this county. |